Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
09-16-2001 @ 9:42 p.m.
Lifting Us Up

Today's service at church was quite touching. It began with a colorguard from the boyscouts presenting our Flag and posting the Colors at the front and then the scout leader read a wonderful poem about the Flag. I could hardly breathe, I was so choked up. Then for our opening hymn, we remained standing and sang O Beautiful for Spacious Skies. Or rather I tried to sing but instead, all I did was croak and cry.

The first speaker was Jason, a member of our congregation who is police officer with the city of the Portland. He offered a tribute to the men and women who are public servants and who risked their lives and even lost their lives on Tuesday. It was very beautiful.

After that, the Bishop spoke. He gave a short treatise on Islam to make sure everyone knew how to use the terms properly and described the tenets of the religion. He reminded us that we weren't at war with Islam but with some very evil people who have made an abomination of Islam and urged us to refrain from generalizations and hatred and racism. The main thrust of his talk was that we can't return to business and life as normal. We have to return to a notch higher than normal--be better citizens and husbands and wives and friends and mothers and fathers and sisters and brothers. I loved the reminders and the sense of camaraderie I felt there in the chapel.

For Kathy: I have a zit on my chin that is half the size of Rhode Island. I have a cleft in my chin and it is on the left side of it making my chin lobes look very out of balance. It is hot and it HURTS and I can't stand it. I think it would give your Lance Boil a serious run for the money.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...