Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
09-17-2001 @ 9:59 p.m.
Bedroom-A-Go-Go Gets Started

I worked through my blah-can't-do-anything feeling today and spent about 5 hours in Joey's room. I organized her toys and critters and 4-level shelving unit and purged a bunch of stuff that she won't miss or that is bona fide garbage. I can only do that when she's not in the room. If she's there, she'll cling desperately to the broken happy meal toys and wrinkled, bent drawings done 2 months ago. It was nice to get some organization back in that room.

After I got it all ship-shape, organization-wise, I went about purging the room of anything ballerina, her *old* bedroom theme. That meant removing a ballerina wallpaper border and taking down the pictures on the walls, the hanging toe shoes, and the window treatment. It was so cathartic. I washed her new fuschia, orange, yellow, lime green paisley jersey sheets and put them on her bed. She refuses to use a top sheet so I used the top sheet as a bedspread. It looks wonderful! And for a window treatment, I put these cube lights with orange, pink, purple and lime green squares around the light. They look really great. There's more stuff--an orange CD holder and a lime green wastebasket and a fuschia and orange chenille daisy pillow but clearly we need more if we are to have a cohesive theme. I'm thinking of stamping big daisies on her walls. My friend can carve me a stamp if I buy the blanks. She's very artistic. And there needs to be some pictures on the wall--some groovy stuff. Time to hit Claire's and Target. I can always count on getting cool stuff there.

When Joey walked in her room after school, she said "Whoa! Mom! My room! I *love* it. I love my room! Thanks!!!" She was very excited and very appreciative and wanted to play in there all afternoon and do her homework lying on her bed. She's awfully darn cute.

It felt so good to do something productive (and reductive). I've been mostly paralyzed for days now and it was really getting me down. Tomorrow I have a lunch date with Jaimie and Wednesday, I'm having a friend over for lunch. She's going to pick up the ballerina stuff for little girl's room. I'm feeling social again. I want to be with people. I haven't wanted to be with people for awhile.

I'm going to make a banana cream pie for my neighbors. I still have their pie plate and I didn't want to return it empty, so I'm going to fill it with another pie. Of course, that means I have to make a pie for Ed and me, too. I think I'll make it in the morning before I go to lunch with Jaimie. That reminds me--we didn't decide where we're going to go. I'd better give her a jingle.

I need to call my paramedic/firefighter sister tomorrow, too. I've wanted to call her all last week but I knew I'd just start blubbering like an idiot and I'd had enough of blubbering like an idiot. She works for the city of Eugene and her husband does the same for the city of Salem. One of the hardest things for me about the WTC tragedy was the firefighters who were killed. I know that if anything happens here, she's on the front line (probably with her husband) and that kills me. I can't think of her out there, doing her job, putting herself in harm's way, but there she would be. So I need to call her.

Later...

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...