Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
05-05-2001 @ 11:30pm
Cinco de Mayo

Happy Cinco de Mayo. We didn't do anything special to celebrate it except watching a cooking show on making tortillas and tamales. You know, the important stuff.

Joey's therapy was good today. She only talked to Joey for about 5 minutes and then we spent the rest of the time discussion Joey's outburts and inability to deal with disappointment. She gave us some really good techniques for teaching Joey to deal with disappointment and some good advice for her periodic tantrums. I'm sure Joey thought it was strange to spend most of her time playing with toys and in a sandbox in a neighboring office but she didn't complain, that's for sure. I was pretty sure at the start of this that the therapy would be as much for us as for her. We need to learn techniques to help her deal with things until she can internalize the scripts she needs to deal with them on her own.

Her goal for this week is to put herself to sleep 2 nights this week. She was delightful this evening and had no trouble putting herself to sleep. I read her THE GIVING TREE and then left her with a stack of books, a kiss and some music. She read THE THREE BEARS to herself and brought it out to show us then said she was tired and went to sleep. What a dream! It would be so nice if we could do this every night!! I don't even dare to dream!!

I have a cold and a nasty canker sore on the side of my tongue that I bit hard last night while eating the veal/chicken piccata last night at the Griffin's (which turned out really good, BTW). So today I ate a mostly liquid diet. I had a big, icy Slimfast shake for breakfast--easy to eat and filling. No pain. Then for lunch, I had a peanut butter chocolate Jamba Juice. I slept for 2 hours this afternoon because I'm so wiped out from this cold. When I woke up, I was so hungry. I knew I wasn't going to be able to go for another liquid meal so we went to Wendy's where I had a baked potato with chili. It was pretty easy to eat and tasted really good.

I remember what I was going to write about yesterday. Minivans. I hate them. I went to pick up Joey at school yesterday and in a parking lot that holds about 20 cars, there were 18 minivans. EIGHTEEEN FREAKING MINIVANS! I especially hate it when people buy a minivan when they have 1 child. Ooh, got a new baby, need to buy a gas-guzzling minivan. I hate them. I hate them. I hate them. I especially hate them when I go to the park or some place like that and see a sea of them in the parking lot. Makes me want to hurl.

I'm going to give Ed a backrub now. Ta!

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...