Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
04-04-2001 @ 10p.m.
Unhealthy Nutrition Teacher?

Forty three years ago today, my parents got married. I'm sure that if my mother were still alive, they'd be whooping it up a good one. They were so happily married. They totally dug each other. They were so cute doing stuff together. For awhile they even had matching jackets. How quaintly nerdy is that? I loved it.

+--+

I went to my first Nutrition lecture today. The teacher is overweight and smokes. She's practically a chain smoker--she smoked a cig right before class, walked in, then during the two hour lecture, she took 2 smoke breaks (one while we read the syllabus, one during the class break). She's kinda strange, too. She talked a lot about herself. I think she thinks she has it all figured out and wants to give us the benefit of her vast wisdom. She has a BS, MS and JD. She made a big point of telling us she put her diplomas in the bathroom, but then she urged everyone to get a PhD and to go to school a lot. I just don't know what to think of her. She uses mannerisms and expressions that annoy me. She'll raise her eyebrows and nod yes to emphasize what she thinks is a really important point. I can't put my finger on it, but she sorta annoys me. She tries to come off like she's going to be your new guidance counselor and like by virtue of her law degree she has amazing insight into everything and so will be able to help you like no one else can. Maybe this kind of thing goes over well with 18-year-olds, but I think I've just lived too much and have enough life experience that hers doesn't impress me.

She went on this big diatribe about how grades don't mean anything but then told us that to get an A, you have to have 93% and that on average, about 6 people in a class will get an A. She said that she wouldn't hire anyone who had a 4.0 because they're weird. Excuse me? I think I was pretty darn normal when I had my 4.0 and I even had a life. I'm still reeling over that B in Stats. But I guess that will make her happy. I'm just not sure how I'm going to get along with her.

+--+

Ed and I started each keeping a food diary. I hope it will help us to be more conscientious of what we put in our mouths. I never used to be hungry all the time and feel so snacky but now I do and it's hard to keep from eating all the time. That and I forget how much chocolate I've already eaten in a day. Today I got away with just a chocolate biscotti. Not too bad!

+--+

I could just smack Ken for his acid teasing to Joey. She is still perseverating on that. I'm just so irritated that his thoughtless teasing would have such a nasty and long-lasting effect. Damn him.

No classes tomorrow. I love Thursdays. I can study, run errands, have lunch with people, and all manner of fun things.

Later...

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...