Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
05-15-2001 @ 11:53 p.m.
Inadvertant Nudity

I just figured out that my computer's clock was about 40 mins fast. No wonder I always had to change the time stamp on my entries. (Ok, so I'm a little slow--it never occurred to me to notice my computer's time when I have other clocks around to look at.)

Just like marywa (have you checked out her diary yet?), we had a major rainstorm today here in Portland. Fortunately, my classes were arranged so that I was able to be indoors during the big cloudbursts and between classes, it was only sprinkly. I must be living under a good sign right now.

I found out recently that 2 couples I know who have each been married more than 10 years (one 10.5 years, the other about 20 years) are getting or have gotten a divorce. They both have 4 kids, too. I just don't get it. They seemed happy. In both cases, though, the husband travelled extensively. One husband worked for a Japanese company and spent many months of the year in Japan (though not consecutive) and the other husband is a secret service agent and has to go on security details all over the world. I can't help but wonder if that was a contributing factor. Another couple I know got divorced a few months ago. She says he was extremely controlling and rather chauvinist and she just couldn't stand it any longer. I don't blame her.

I've lost 6 lbs. so far in my weight loss quest. My goal is to lose a total of 10 lbs. by June 15th so I have 4 lbs. to go. Then I'll make a new 10 lb. goal and date to achieve it by. I'm feeling pretty stoked, though. It's been pretty steady about 1 lb. every 3 days. My long range goal is to lose a total of about 85 lbs. which I expect will take me a year to a year and a half if I keep up with meeting my goals.

My neighbor and his Saturday night dinner guests may have seen me naked. Let me back up--usually Joey's bedroom blinds are closed because the window looks right into the neighbor's window. On Saturday it was hot so we opened the blinds and the window to get some air circulation in her room. So after working in the garden, I needed to shower to get ready for the wedding reception. Joey was going to shower with me to save time (she has showered with me since she was 2 mos. old, though she takes a bath on her own about half the time) so I needed to get her a towel. I had already gotten undressed and I walked out of the bedroom, past Joey's bedroom, down the hallway to the linen closet and then walked back past Joey's room. When I got there, I looked up, right into a dinner party. I screamed and ran into my bedroom and then started laughing hysterically. I have no idea if they saw me on either of my passes and they have enough class not to mention it if they did, so I'm living in denial. No one saw me. My indignity is safe.

Still, I hate to think of it. What if they saw me? Ack!

Joey went to bed very nicely. I read her a book, gave her a pile of books to look at/read and kissed her good night. She put herself to sleep. No argument. No waiting around for her to fall asleep (which I hate). She just went to sleep. Per the therapists recommendation, we have a contract with her. Her job is to put herself to sleep (and stay in her own bed) 5 nights before the 24th. Our job is to get her The Emperor's New Groove on video if she meets her goal. She is *very* motivated. I can't wait until she's just so used to putting herself to sleep that it doesn't occur to her to do it any other way. How many videos do you think that will take?

I'm very thirsty and very tired now so I'm going to go get a drink of water and go to bed. Tomorrow I get the joy (?) of getting back my test results for my A&P exam and my Nutrition midterm. I do hope it will prove to be a joyful experience. I'll let you know.

Later...

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...