Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
05-16-2001 @ 10:44 p.m.
Public Market

Well, I got my test results back from my classes. I got an 88% in A&P, which was pretty good considering that the class average was 66%. I was happy with it, because it was a very hard test, but I wish my average were higher than 88%. I'll have to *really* study for the final and make sure I know the case study for the extra credit questions. Otherwise I'll never be able to pull and A out of that class.

In Nutrition, I got a 90% but the teacher requires a 93% for an A. But my test score averaged with my dietary study gives me a 95% for the class so far so I'm feeling pretty good about that.

Joey and I went to the mall for dinner and shopping after school today. Every now and then, we like to have dinner at 4:00. We had Indian food at Wazwan. I had chicken and spinach over rice. It was so delicious and so fragrant. Joey had rice half with lentil dahl and half with chicken and spinach sauce. Yum. It was so good. And I'm still full from it. Well, I did have some prunes for dessert a little while ago--that could be adding to the feeling of fullness I still have.

I heard that there is movement afoot to open a giant open-air marketplace in downtown Portland and the James Beard Foundation is going to be involved in helping to raise the estimated $20 million necessary to get the thing started. I *so* want this to happen. I've been lamenting the fact that there is no good place to get really fresh veggies and gourmet produce--especially mushrooms. I've been craving morel mushrooms and can't find them except for $35/lb. at Nature's. How is a girl supposed to make a wild mushroom ragout with only some plain white button mushrooms and crimini and shiitake? I need chanterelles and oysters and morels and would a few hen-of-the-woods be too much to ask? Or a blue foot? Ok, I'll settle for just some morels. At a decent price. I'd pay $20/lb. I only need about 8 mushrooms to make me happy--what's that? A half-pound at best? I just can't spend $17.50 for 8 mushrooms. There are places on the web where you can order morels but I'd have to buy a pound a time. And you need to eat them right away. (Maybe I could have a mushroom party? They're really good deep fried.)

Anyway, I've always been insanely jealous that Seattle has this kick-ass market and we've got diddly. I want a good fishmonger. I want a good mushroom monger. I want a good butcher shop. I want gourmet vegetables and fruits. I hate going to the grocery store and seeing the same-old same-old. Granted, grocery produce offerings have improved dramatically in the last decade or so but if you want anything outside the mainstream, good luck finding it in Portland. And don't get me started on fish and meat. There is an old-fashioned butcher way the hell over on the east side far far away from my little suburb. I don't mind driving a half hour for something good but it would take 45-50 minutes one way to get the this butcher. I just can't do that. So I'm throwing my support behind this market in any way I can.

HerWorship listed her favorite scents, inspired by another journal. Since I'm very olfactory-oriented, I thought I'd list some of my favorite aromas, too: sun-warmed fir needles, sun-warmed blackberries, rosemary, pesto, chocolate, vanilla, an orange being peeled, lime zest, lemon (I love all citrus, actually), baking bread, sandalwood, cedar, jasmine, lily of the valley, the air just after a heavy rainstorm, a horse barn that is well cared for, the nape of Ed's neck, the breeze at the Oregon coast, steak on the barbecue, tomato plants, the top of a newborn baby's head, cinnamon rolls, coconut, peppermint.... that's all that comes off the top of my head. I love to think about sensual pleasures. Especially olfactory pleasures. You don't have to tell me twice to stop and smell the roses (though I'd be more likely to stop and smell the pine and fir needles than the roses ).

Joey and I spent several hours at the mall looking for a pair of summer sandals for her and came up empty handed. She has very narrow feet so your standard Teva sandals are useless. Her feet just slide around in them. She needs a more form-fitted shoe. I'm thinking Land's End might have something. I'll do a web search and see what turns up.

My fingers are puffy today--that happens sometimes when I spend 4 hours walking around the mall. Something about centrifugal force or something.

Ok--I'm off to hunt for sandals on the web. Wish me luck...

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...