Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
07-02-2002 @ 11:26 p.m.
La La La Lame

Today we had our carpets steam-cleaned. Woo-hoo. The excitement here is beyond measure. Next thing you know, I'll be painting the walls and waxing the kitchen floor.

You know, I've never been accused of being a domestic goddess. I keep a comfortably clean home but I'm not a Felix Unger by any stretch of the imagination. I just don't relish housework. I do what I have to do to get by and not be embarrassed when people come to visit and deep clean from time to time but this is not an eat-off-the-floor type of establishment. I have better things to do with my time. Like read diaries and watch reruns of M*A*S*H.

It's not that this place is a pigsty--really. It's actually relatively tidy compared to some friend's homes, to tell the truth. At least in the parts of the house where I let people see. My bedroom and office are another matter entirely. Private space gets scary sometimes.

Considering how I grew up, though, this place is immaculate.

I've really dropped to an all-time low--writing about housework in my diary. How the mighty have fallen.

Lessee...what else can I thrill you with? Joey's having a sleep-over with the girl whose house Joey slept at last night. She's a very nice little girl and I enjoy having her over. I'm glad Joey has nice friends. She really has good taste in friends. I hope this is a skill that she can maintain throughout high school, but I won't hold my breath.

Bookgroup was cancelled. It's been rescheduled for next Tuesday but I won't be in town so I won't be able to go. But that's ok with me because I hated the book and didn't finish it. It really sucked. I wish now I'd gotten it from the library instead of bought it. I'm going to have to be more cautious about which bookgroup books I buy and which I check out from the library. I've been saddled with a few clunkers because I hate to return books to the library like Plankton so I just buy them instead. (Joey used to think Borders was the library.)

Oh, and my sister called me to chat at 7:30 am. I wanted to kill her--it was my one morning to sleep as long as I wanted because Joey was at a sleep-over and I get a stinking phone call at 7:30 am. I'm going to call her at 11pm one of these nights and harass her for being in bed already. Man--I can't believe it.

I went to the convenience store to get some Hershey bars for making s'mores tonight with Joey and her friend and the guy (in his 50s or 60s) had never even heard of s'mores in his life. In his life! I couldn't believe it. What kind of person in the United States goes around for 50 or 60 years not ever hearing about s'mores or making them when camping? Criminy! I gave him the "recipe" and made him promise to make them the first chance he gets.

I suppose that's it for tonight's scintillating peek into Lobotomy Land. Ya'll come back soon, ya hear?

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...