Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
06-02-2002 @ 11:25 p.m.
Where the Hell Have I Been?

Boy, I just dropped out of sight, didn't I? Dunno what happened there. I just didn't feel like I had anything to say so I didn't say anything at all. Sometimes that happens, though rarely to me!

The rest of last week passed fine. I got my final prints done on Thursday which was quite a relief! I took some photos over to Lauren and gave her and her mom the contact sheets. They were totally delighted with the photos which warmed my heart, and they ordered several to be printed. She offered to pay for the paper which I really appreciated. I'll make the prints on Tuesday after class during open lab. Shouldn't take me too long to do them--I'm thinking 2 or 3 hours. I just need to find some place for Joey to go. I'm thinking maybe to visit Lauren??? Seems like a good idea to me.

Friday was one of those tremendously busy days starting at 8:15 when Joey played piano at her school's talent show. She looked so cute--even wore a dress to school--and did so well. I was very proud of her--she played with flourish and confidence. She's a performer, that girl. Didn't even get nervous. (A child after my own heart.) Then there was the school barbecue where for $2.50, I got the privilege of sitting on the grass eating burned hamburgers with my daughter while getting sunburned. I suppose things could have been worse. It could have rained. But she so wanted me there and that's why I'm a non-employed, non-fulltime-student mom, so I went. And it was fun enough. After that, Stacey and I took a quick run downtown to shop for a baby shower gift for Christa. Then I went home and prepared my items for the shower food (chicken balls and special creme fraiche strawberry dip) and went to the shower. It was a fun shower, too. That baby is tremendously cute!

Saturday, we got up relatively early (relative being the operative word) and prepared the house for guests. Cherry, John and their "little sister" Angel came for the weekend. The best part about them coming was that it forced Joey to clean her room. I had her work on it for an hour and she did a decent job but then I went in ther with her and we finished it off. It looks great! Joey and Angel had a *great* time together. We had a relaxed Saturday and they played all day. We barbecued (grilled, actually) catfish with cajun seasoning for dinner and man, was that ever tasty! I had some for dinner tonight again and it was just as good. Oh, and we had the best strawberry shortcake ever for dessert. Best ever. Cherry made the shortcakes which I think was the real reason they were so delicious, though my creme fraiche whipped cream was pretty tasty.

Today we had the great fun of attending the symphony performance of Bugs Bunny on Bro@dway. It was incredible! The symphony played the music to several Warner Bros. cartoons including my favorite Barber of Seville. It was really great and the girls absolutely *loved* it. We'd met some friends of Cherry's at a German restaurant for lunch. That was some seriously tasty food, too.

I'd had such a terrible night's sleep, though, that I had to go right to a nap when I got home. It was ridiculous how tired I was. I slept for about 2 hours very solidly. It was so warm yesterday that our house was hot and the birds are so loud that you will be awakened at about 4:30am when they start chirping like crazy so we kept the windows shut. Too hot, though. Also, yesterday, my freaking allergies returned and I was miserable. Couldn't breathe all night. Blech! Cherry gave me some of her Zyrtec, though, which works *much* better than Claritin. I'm calling the doc tomorrow to get some.

I have a full day tomorrow, though. Meeting with the other room moms (including the annoying-as-hell Brownie leader mom) to plan the pretend wedding that we're going to throw Joey's teacher as a year-end class party. Then I need to run to the library to pick up a video to watch before Tuesday. Then I need to run home and cut 8 window mats. That shouldn't take too long but there's mounting to worry about, as well.

This is my last week of school. Yay! I'm going to miss the darkroom community but not the darkroom idiots who tend to ruin my experience. I'll be on my own, photography-wise. Time to get cracking on some cultivating clients, huh?

Later,

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...