Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
04-09-2002 @ 9:09 p.m.
Back in the Darkroom Again

I printed pictures today. Lots of them. And it was so exciting. I spent 5 hours in the darkroom today and it felt so invigorating. My shirt still smells like developer. It's great.

I printed 11 photos today--a few empty vessels and a few shots that will work for the Face of Time series. One of Joey is really incredible--dramatic side lighting, close in, eyes straighforward, lips closed, hair behind one ear on the lighted side and hanging loose on the shadow side. One eye in shadow, one lighted. Oh man, it slays me. The teacher really liked it, too. I'll probably use it for my 8-year-old photo in the Face of Time series. One of my pictures of Gabby with a towel draped over her head turned out nice, too. Interestingly, both of these photos are direct-gaze photos which I don't usually do. I find it unusual but I like it.

The best photo, though, and one that I so wish I could share with you all, is of Ed. He's ankle-deep in the American river with bright sun behind him that sparkles on the water. He is crouched down, looking into his gold pan and there are sparkles of light on the water that make a few little "stars" around him. There are drips of water hanging off his fingers that are illuminated with the bright sun. The exposure was good, though, because Ed's face is clearly visible--not too dark--and the detail in his jeans and shirt is sharp. I'm so happy with that photo! I need to enlarge it to 11x14 and frame it and hang it up right away.

It was just so good to be back in the darkroom and having fun and creating art. It really really felt good. I just wanted to stay there all day. I mean, I did stay there for 5 hours but I could have stayed even longer.

That sums up my entire day.

I'm thinking of joining the 0regon Myc0logical S0ciety. I think it would be really fun to go hunting for chanterelles and morels with my family and with some experts. I asked Ed and he was noncommital but interested. I haven't run it past Joey yet but I think she'd like it, too. Anyway, I think I'll go to their website tonight and sign us up. I've never hunted mushrooms but I'm game. Besides, there are few things I like more than fresh morels. Especially when I don't have to pay $30 a pound for them.

I just wanna take more pictures. More more more more moremoremoremoremoremore. I don't want much--just everything.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...