Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
02-12-2002 @ 10:18 p.m.
Why Am I Watching This?

I wasn't able to get my entry added last night before the system went down for moving so it went up this afternoon--sorry it was late.

Today was Joey's all-second-grade Chinese New Year Party. Gung Hey Fat Choy! It was fun and I liked being there to help out. I provided the tangerines--and boy, were they good! I was happy to bring the leftovers home. I've eaten 4 already. Mmmmmm--good!

While I was there, the PTAC president's wife was there recruiting officers for next year's PTAC. The officers are appointed rather than voted on. I'm not sure why but that's the deal. They've gotten my next-door neighbor on board to be the president next year and she wants me to be one of the officers. Sure, I said. (As long as it isn't the chocolate sale!) I'm not sure what I'll end up with but I wouldn't mind being the volunteer coordinator or something like that, but I'm not a big fundraiser person. Hate it hate it hate it.

Joey and I went to get Ed something for Valentine's Day. We went to the woodworking store and got some goodies there. Joey was insistent that we get Ed some Gorilla Glue. We got him a few other things, too--some mini ratchet clamps, some biscuits, and biscuit glue spreader. Not terribly romantic but things he'll enjoy. (I'll save the body chocolate for later when Joey isn't looking. ::wicked g::)

There was an incredible sunset tonight--peachy, orangey colors intensifying into deep pink and finally purple before it was completely dark. I watched it morph before my eyes as I drove home toward the west. It was absolutely beautiful. When Joey asked me what I'd like for Valentine's Day, I said I'd like a few more of those wonderful sunsets. She thought I was joking.

More Olympics tonight. I really hate how they are telecast. I remember back in the olden days when they were broadcast live and when all (or almost all) the competitors were shown, not just the top 3 or 4 contenders and then all the US participants. I remember when they were on during the day, too. Live. I watched most of the 1984 summer games with my summer roommates during the day and then caught the medals ceremonies at night. We'd come in from hanging out at the pool and watch Carl Lewis run some races, and Flo Jo. Now it's all pre-packaged for maximum commercial time and edited so they don't have to show the losers, just the top people and all the Americans. And the winners are already known due to the Internet so it's no fun to watch at all. I hate it. I don't know anyone who likes it this way so why do they do it? Because NBC is the only game in town so if you want to watch any of the competition, you have to do it this way. How exciting would Nadia's row of perfect 10s have been if they were pre-recorded and previously announced on the Internet?

An acquaintance mentioned to me that she's leaving in a day or two to head to Utah to catch some of the Olympics. They're going to stay with family there and see Women's speed skating and Women's biathalon. Now I can see the appeal of speed skating but my big joke about getting Olympics' tickets has been that in the ticket lottery, you'd end up with nothing but tickets for the biathalon. I don't get that sport at all--cross country skiing and target shooting? Who was the braintrust that came up with *that* idea? If I could go, I'd want to see snowboarding, freestyle/slalom, ice dancing and curling. Maybe ski jumping, too. That's pretty amazing. But biathalon? No thanks. I can't think of any winter sport I'd least like to watch.

To tell you the truth, I'd rather be watching Law & Order, West Wing, Will & Grace, ER and Friends than the Olympics.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...