Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
01-15-2002 @ 8:44 p.m.
Lobotomybabe, the Gimp

Well, my big plans for the day were shot all to hell when I woke up with tremendous pain in my left arm. You may recall back in November when I hurt my external rotators on my right shoulder? Well, my recent foray into weight lifting worked my left shoulder too much and caused the same injury to my external rotators on the left side. I was in terrible pain most of the day despite taking copious amounts of analgesics--ibuprofen, acetaminophen *and* naproxen sodium. My ears will be ringing all night, I'm sure. Anyway, it ached so bad that all the things I wanted to do sounded awful. I couldn't bring myself to go anywhere because I just wanted to sit with my arm immobile doing painful friction massage. Those external rotators are very tender when they get inflamed. I can't even hardly stand to graze the skin with my fingers--you'd think I peeled the skin off, it hurt so much. (Do I sound sufficiently pitiful?)

So, I slept and rested my arm, then screwed up the courage and energy to walk on the treadmill. I did 30 minutes of fast walking, 15 minutes of slow walking. I felt very good about that. I even sweated. And then I did some writing. Or rather revising. I've been bothered by this one particular part that I wrote a few days ago and I think I fixed it today. I'm glad about that. It's so fun writing in my special record book. I love that book. It just feels subtantial and important.

I thought for a long time about going in to the photo lab but I just couldn't do it. I knew that standing with my arm hanging down my side would make it ache--the only thing that helped it today (besides drugs and painful friction massage) was to sit with it supported by a pillow. I had to sort of rest it on the handle-hold thing when I was walking on the treadmill so it wouldn't dangle. (Dangling is bad.) I will pick up my negs in the morning and then go to class and work on them then. It will be fine. Since I had them developed at a lab, I'm ahead of the game.

I also thought about taking some pictures but again, my arm prevented me because I knew I'd have to use it a lot if I took pictures. That and I didn't have anyone to take pictures of. Boy, I sound so pitiful. I was gonna do this, I was gonna do that.... The road to hell is paved with good intentions, isn't it?

Additionally, when I woke up, the red blotches had spread--I had a few more on my stomach and some on my left breast, a few on my hip and they were itchy. I put some different cream on them, though, and they started to get better after awhile. They aren't as raised as they were--almost indefinable borders now--and they aren't totally itchy anymore. This is a very good thing.

I am feeling rather gimpy though--itchy red welts, painful external rotators. This is so lame. I am feeling entirely too old today. When did 37 become old, anyway?

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...