Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
01-08-2002 @ 9:26 p.m.
Sleeping Walking Reading Writing

I walked a mile and a half on my treadmill today while watching Trading Spaces. What a strange show. I haven't decided yet whether I like it. There are things I like, designers I like and things I think are bad. I definitely like the new host Paige better than the previous one, Alex.

So anyway, walking. It felt good to exercise--get a little sweat going, breathing a little harder. I didn't work too hard because I've been such a freaking slug for the past few months but I was glad to get moving. Finally.

That's the good part. The bad part is that I walked on the treadmill after taking a very long mid-morning nap. I was so tired today. And my eyes have been feeling really dry all day--I've been squinting and it gave me a headache. I hate that. So, I took a long nap but at least I got some tasks done (Christmas stuff all packed up and ready to go into storage, reading, planning) and did some walking. That sort of makes up for the long nap, doesn't it?

To top off my semi-sloth, I made Hamburger Helper for dinner tonight. This is the second time in my entire life I've made it but I was at a loss as to what to fix for dinner tonight and when I saw it in the pantry, I decided to make it. Joey and Ed loved it. I thought it was better than I expected but it was still Hamburger Helper.

I got a lovely thank you card from Angelbutt today for the drunken chocolate cherries I sent her at Christmas. It was such a lovely card and even had a sheet of stickers for Joey included (which Joey was absolutely delighted to receive). It's so nice to get actual mail on actual paper sent in a real envelope that isn't a bill. These days it is such a rare occurrence. Thanks, AB. Your greetings were well received. :-)

I was writing some dialog last night and having trouble with it. The dialog part was fine. I felt like it was realistic, but I couldn't seem to figure out how to get some action into it. Then again, there *was* no action. It was 3 people sitting in a booth at a tavern talking about an event from earlier in the day. How many times can I say one of them took a drink of their beer or touched a drop of condensation or something like that. It starts to get really contrived. But still I hear Diana's voice in my head saying "put action into that dialog." Then again, I have to remind myself that she doesn't know freaking everything about writing and that there are lots of books I like that have writing which breaks all her "rules" which she likes to remind people are not hard and fast. Why, then, do I keep hearing her say "action"? Arrrggh!

I have had many many conversations where there was no action whatsoever--we're on the phone, we're sitting on a couch, we're in the car talking. Putting in action just for action's sake would be like those stupid scenes in shows like Law & Order where the cops are questioning someone and that person is eating breakfast, folding laundry, loading cargo into a truck, and so on. Trust me when I tell you, if cops came to question me about a murder, I don't think I'd be eating my breakfast or folding my freaking laundry. I'd sit down with them on the couch and we would talk and I would be doing nothing but talking with them. I wouldn't even answer the telephone if it rang. Wouldn't you? So I don't want to put in action that is going to ring false like that. (HW, tell me I'm doing the right thing, would you?)

It's just a little after 10pm and I whipped! Problem is, I'm hungry, too. I ate a meatloaf sammy for lunch and had some HH for dinner and that's it. Probably only about 1000 calories for the day. I think I'm going to have to have my usual cereal snack. I think I need to find a new favorite cereal, though. This one has a bit of granola in it. It tastes good though--Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds. Mmmmm...good!

Class tomorrow. Mmmm. Can't wait! This time I'm going even earlier so I can get a parking place and not have to waste and hour driving around. I'll bring my notebook and write and when I'm tired of writing, I'll read my Edgerton.

Ta!

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...