Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
08-08-2001 @ 11:04 p.m.
Final Vacation Roundup

If you ever get the chance to go to Islands of Adventure, the newest theme park at Universal Studios, be sure to go on the Spiderman ride. It's a 3-D ride that is to be believed. It's my favorite theme park ride ever.

Somehow Ed talked me into going on the Incredible Hulk. It's one of the biggest and most incredible roller coasters in the world. This was my very first big rollercoaster--I've never gone upsidedown on a rollercoaster before. But this isn't your average giant twisting-loop-de-loop rollercoaster. Nope. This one shoots you out of the start with 200 electromagnetic motors that accelerate you to about 60 miles an hour in about 2 seconds. The G forces were overwhelming. Once you're launched out of the tube, you get twisted upside down and then go down a big hill. There are several loops and a few upside-down twists. I liked the loops. I did not like the twists. I don't like that freefall feeling either. Why I went on the ride, I'll never know. I spent the whole time growling this primitive, gutteral noise that made my throat hurt for the rest of the day. It was probably more excitment than I care to experience again.

One good thing, though. And this is a good tip for future theme park visits. To avoid long lines, get in the Singles line. We did that on the two biggest rides at Islands of Adventure and we spent only 4 minutes (instead of a predicted 60 minutes) in line at Superman and about 10 minutes instead of 75 minutes at the Incredible Hulk ride. Unless you have youngsters you need to stay with, the Singles line is the secret to enjoying the theme park. Both times we were able to ride together anyway.

I guess that pretty much sums up my vacation. I mean there were other little things here and there, like our dinner at a Gullah restaurant where I ate oxtail stew that was ever so delicious and the Riverdance-wannabes that we saw in Myrtle Beach, but I've covered the important stuff. Now I can get to the ever so exciting present. The present where I am doing very little. Today, though, I wore a tank top (in public, no less--shopping at Costco) for the first time in something like 14 or so years. Woo hoo! I put it on to get some sun while I pruned my tomatoes and wildflowers and otherwise worked in the garden and then just left it on. It sure felt good in this heat.

We just watched "O Brother Where Art Thou" and it's a pretty durn funny movie. I think I'll have to watch it again. I need to listen to George Clooney again. His lines were so funny! I loved the music in the movie, too. I think I want to get that soundtrack.

And now I think I want to go take a shower. I feel very aromatic and I don't want to take that aroma into bed with me.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...