Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
09-02-2003 @ 10:47 p.m.
Random Things and Five Questions from Life-My-Way

I talked to Stacey today. It was a long two days since we had our tearful goodbye. They are in the house now but they can't find the sheets and blankets. I remember throwing them (all folded up and packed in garbage bags) over the top of some boxes into an underutilized space on the other side of the garage. I hope they can find them! I told her I was planning a trip to visit them on the 12th and she sounded nearly ecstatic to hear it. I think it will be great fun. I kind of wish Joey were coming with me but I'm also looking forward to a trip away.

Ed was ironing a new pair of pants the other day and he asked me, "Are flat-front pants supposed to have a crease ironed into them?" I thought for a minute and then said "I know the answer should be in my uterus somewhere but I just can't find it. Sorry."

The other night while waiting in line at Taco Bell drive thru, I was feeling kind of lightheaded because I'd eaten nothing but s'mores and tomato sandwiches and Diet Dr Pepper all day. In what can only be described as a moment of absolute confusion and stupidity, I suddenly stomped on the gas. The car lurched forward and I came within millimeters of smashing the rear end of the car in front of me. Thankfully, my instincts kicked in, overriding my temporary insanity, and I hit the brake fast enough to keep from actually making contact with anything. I have never done anything like that before and, God willing, I never will again. Suddenly, though, I have newfound sympathy for all those elderly drivers who are getting in accidents lately. I have no idea where my foot got the idea to hit the gas and for a split second, I truly had no idea what was happening. This is what bad dreams are made of.

And now, the answers to Five Questions from Life-My-Way:

1. If you could relive one day in your life which would it be, and why?

Hmmm...it's a toss up between the day I got married, which was an utterly incredible day, and the day Joey was placed in my arms. Both days are about establishing a connection to someone--someone so significant to me that I wouldn't want to live without them. I'm all about relationships and connections and the days where these two relationships were cemented are priceless to me.

2. Of which of your accomplishments are you most proud?

In some ways, this is hard because I don't feel like I have this big bevy of accomplishments to choose from. When I was younger, I'd say something like making the dance team in high school, which was one of my hugest accomplishments in my early life, but getting my bachelor's degree makes me feel pretty proud, especially as I seem to have a large number of friends who are without degrees (which really surprises me in this day and age). If I were to be perfectly honest, though, going back to school and getting an A in my algebra II class was an almost life-changing event for me because for 35 years, I'd classified myself as a math retard and then something clicked in my brain and I got it--I understood how to do the math. And I understood it well enough to tutor others in the class and to get an A in not just one but 4 math classes. Getting As in my 3 chemistry classes was right up there, too, but still just a shade below the math As. And the coolest thing about those As was thatI got them because I *understood* the math and chemistry, not just because I crammed enough into my brain to pass the tests and then lost it all. That's the very best part of all.

3. What is something about yourself that would surprise your readers?

I was a virgin when I got married at 22, even after dating my husband for 2.5 years. (He was a virgin, too.)

4. If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

I'd be a size 10 and all exercise-y instead of the size 18 couch-y person I really am.

5. If you could impart one piece of information or one concept to Joey [and be absolutely sure she would fully understand it] what would it be?

There are so many pieces of information I'd want her to really know and understand--things like no matter what she does or how her life turns out, I will always love her unconditionally; to follow her heart and do what feels right to her, not what someone else expects or demands of her; that no mistake is so big and so vast that it can't be overcome; but I guess the number one thing I'd want her to know is that biology doesn't matter--there is no possible way I could have loved and cherished her more if I'd have given birth to her. Especially through the turbulent times that are to come, I want her to know that one thing.

The Rules are (should you wish to play):

1. Leave a comment in my guestbook, saying you want to be interviewed.

2. I will respond; I'll ask you five questions.

3. You'll update your Web site with my five questions, and your five answers.

4. You'll include this explanation.

5. You'll ask five other people five questions when they want to be interviewed.

That is all.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...