Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
06-03-2003 @ 3:03 p.m.
Small Towns

You know you live in a small town when you read a blurb like this in the crime notes of your town's monthly (!) newspaper:

"Someone egged a house in the 15000 block of Southwestern Elm Avenue during the night of April 12-13. Damage was estimated at $100."

Better yet, though, was this gem:

"Between May 4 at 11:18 am and May 6th, someone apparently stole water from a faucet at the Newly Yours business on Oak street."

Stole water from a faucet? Criminy. How would you even know if someone stole water out of your faucet? And what's with vague but accurate time frame? Between 11:18am (exactlly 11:18??) and May 6th? What time on May 6th? How is it that they don't know the ending time but they *do* know that the water has been stolen? Clearly someone is falling down on the job.

Oh well. Things could be much worse. I could be reading about muggings and murders and drive-by shootings. Knowing that there are water stealers and eggers in my town, though. That's a little disconcerting.

I spent the day at the 0regon museum of Science and 1ndustry with Joey's class today. I think we had the best group. I had Joey and her friend Hailey and then the two cutest, smartest and best behaved boys in the class. They were polite, well-mannered and interested in what we were doing. They talked with me, asked me questions and discussed their favorite exhibits. They asked permission before they went off to a nearby exhibit and came back quickly. Good kids. No, make that great kids. They fully restored my faith in the future of this world.

The H*e*r*s*h*e*y company has conspired against me. They've invented these evilly delicious concoctions of chocolate, toffee bits and almonds. They are incredibly delicious and completely irresistable. I'm powerless in their grip. This is bad news. Very bad indeed. They are responsible for my ingesting something like 3000 grams of fat. I wish there were some kind of 12-step program that I could enroll in to recover from my unfortunate addiction. I shall endeavor never to buy them again but I can't guarantee that I'll be strong enough to resist the pull. Maybe I can try some desensitation therapy by eating myself silly on them until they hold no allure for me. Yes, that's a plan. I'll try that. Wish me luck. Hopefully I'll be sick to death of them in a day or two. Please!

Tomorrow I have a free day all to myself and all day long. Joey is going to a friend's house for a birthday party after school and staying the night. It's going to be a crazy school-night slumber party but the next day is the class party and play day so I'm not worried about it. The girls will probably be tired and giggly in class, though. Oh well.

I think Amy and the Nephew are going to come over and hang out so I'll see if I can't drag them out to T@rget. It's time for my weekly visit to that place. You know, in case there's anything new there. Plus, they have my soda on special there--4 12-packs for $10. That totally rocks. I've got to stock up.

It feels like summer here, now. I love it. I know I'll be complaining about the heat in a week or two but for now, I'm delighted to be enjoying the short sleeves and capris and shorts. Summer rules.

And now I feel the need to go barf or something. I keep thinking about all that chocolate in my stomach--I may have reached saturation levels. Let's hope so!

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...