Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
08-21-2002 @ 2:47 p.m.
Bowie Rocks the House

The concert was incredible! It took 4.5 hours to drive there but it was a gorgeous drive down the Columbia River Gorge and then up into Washington. We got there around 4:30 and found a place on the grassy knoll above the stage and made ourselves comfortable. I decided to take a little nap while we waited for the show to start. An Elvis impersonator got up and sang a few songs and then I drifted off into a lovely 30-minute nap on the blanket we brought. The sun was out but it wasn't too hot and the view was freaking unbelievable. To see where we were, go to this website: http://www.hob.com/venues/concerts/gorge/general_info.asp You can click on the Gorge Amphitheatre Slideshow button and see more pictures of the venue. It's really an amazing place. And the acoustics were really great. I was surprised and impressed.

The Blue Man Group was good but not as good as when we saw them up close and personal in Vegas. Still, they were entertaining. Then we had to suffer through Busta Rhymes. Oh. My. Freaking. Heck. Did he ever suck. Ok, so I'm not a hip-hop fan but aside from that, every other word out of his mouth was shit. It was a noun, a verb, an adverb, an adjective. When he wasn't saying shit he was saying fuck or mo'fucking. Now I'm no prude, believe me, but there's something really pathetic about a person who's vocabulary is so dramatically limited. Good grief. Buy a thesaurus fer cryin' out loud.

After Busta was the real reason for our road trip: David Bowie. He is still hot after all these years. He looked great. He sounded great. He was funny. He was charming. It was wonderful. He did a good mix of old stuff and stuff from his new CD. I especially liked his live version of Fame and China Girl and Let's Dance. At one point, he put on a guitar and sang 2 Elvis songs. They share the same birthday so he talked about that for a bit. He does a great Elvis, I might add. The last song of the night was my favorite song of all time: Ziggy Stardust. It was the perfect way to end the concert. Moby was up next but we were so satisfied with Bowie that we decided to leave. Ahhh...what a great day. One of the best concerts I've ever been to.

Haven't done much since then. My friend Kim called me today and asked me to do so me head shots for her tomorrow. That will be fun. And then on Friday, I'm taking publicity shots for a theatre group in town so that will be fun, too. I got a new lens for my camera so I'm ready to roll.

Weird dreams continue. Last night I dreamed about swimming in a river with acidulated water that stung and gave me a big rash and I had to stop at someone's place nearby and take a shower in their trailer to get the acid off of me. There was more to the dream but I can't remember it right now. Most every morning I wake up with some weird ass dream in my head. Some are entertaining but some are downright disturbing. I could really do without those.

I'm down 18 lbs. as of today.

Thanks, Trin, for the GB entry. :-)

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...