Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
06-24-2002 @ 11:46 a.m.
Reach Out and Touch Someone

I've been away from the computer this weekend. Partly because every time I wanted to use the computer, Ed beat me to the punch and partly because I didn't have a whole lot to say so I didn't really care all that much that Ed was already using the computer.

The last two nights, I slept pretty well. Last night I woke up at 2:30 momentarily but then fell right back to sleep and that was that. The night before, though, I slept the whole night without interruption. I slept for 9.5 hours! It felt so good!

This weekend was a lowkey, mostly home-bound weekend except for dinner with the Griffins on Saturday night. We have a lot coming up in the next few weeks and weekends so I was happy to have a mellow weekend. It's the last one we'll have for awhile.

I got a call last night from my friend Deanne who lives in Virginia. She and I have been friends for about 17 years and our husbands have been best friends for about 25 years. We email pretty regularly but I have been kind of incommunicado for over a month. She started to worry about me because I'd talked to her a lot when I was in the throes of depression and feeling spiritually adrift so finally she called last night to make sure I was still alive and everything was ok. It was good to talk to her and it made me feel loved to know that she'd been worried about me and wondering how I was doing. We talked for an hour and a half. Because we email each other so much we rarely talk on the phone anymore. As much as I love how involved I feel in their daily lives through email, I do miss that personal feeling I get from a telephone call.

The interesting thing I've noticed, though, is that I tend to avoid making calls these days. When I can email someone the information I have or ask the question on my mind, I do it that way rather than calling. I'm not sure why--I don't hate talking on the phone--I just seem to prefer emailing to calling. I've never been very good at making phone calls anyway. Like reminder calls for things? I suck at that. I always try to delegate that so I don't have to be responsible for it.

Allergies continue to plague me. As much as I love our home out here in the country, it has been a bad move from an allergy standpoint. We're surrounded by grassy fields and hazelnut orchards, two of my worst allergies. In our last home, we were more in town and in a more densely developed area so there wasn't as much open grass to go to seed so my allergies were much more manageable then. I'm not really keen to move back to that area but I don't really like the idea of these nasty allergies every June either. What's a girl to do? I suppose I could get allergy shots but that doesn't appeal much to me either. I did that in college and I hated it! ::sigh::

After Joey's bath last night, I braided her hair in about a dozen little braids around her head. She kind of looks like Li'l Bow Wow now. Or Alicia Keyes. It's cute. She loves braids and then she loves the kinky hair she gets when she takes the braids out. She's somewhat hair-obsessed right now. If I haven't braided her hair for her, she'll change her hairstyle about 5 times a day--put in ponytails, take them out, braid her hair all around, ask me to put in one ponytail on top of her head, braid it, take it out, start all over with straight hair, ad infinitum. I don't remember being that interested in my hair until I was in about 7th or 8th grade. It just cracks me up. Every time she comes in to the room, her hair looks different. Sometimes I have to nix a 'do if we're going somewhere and it's all wonky but mostly I just let her do what she wants. You know, choosing battles and all that.

I can't figure out what to do with myself today. I suppose I ought to spend some time working on that logo Delyn asked me to do. Perhaps I'll get out my pens and see what I can come up with. Oh, and I have to watch the end of The M@jestic so I can take the DVD back. I suppose I could package up the things I need to mail and get those going (another thing I suck at). Or I could just laze around and wait until 2:30 when my friend is bringing her two kids over to be babysat. Hmmmm...so many choices....

Ta.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...