Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
06-14-2002 @ 4:21 a.m.
Insomnia? What the Hell *Is* That?

Yes, that time is right. It's four freaking AM and I can't sleep. I fell asleep around midnight on the couch and then woke up around 3:15 and I haven't been able to fall back to sleep. This is so unlike me--I'm the sleep queen, remember? I can fall asleep anywhere, anytime, anyhow. But right now I can't. And what's more, I have nervous legs. I hate having nervous legs--I just feel like I need to run and run and run. Ack! I sure hope this isn't a side-effect of the Celexa. I've talked to a few people who took different antidepressants and some of them suffered terribly from insomnia on them. I took some Benadryl in hopes that my allergies will be quelled and my tiredness will return.

And now Joey is awake and it appears that what we thought was allergies is really a cold. She's supposed to leave tomorrow for a 2-night Brownie campout but I can't send her if she's sick. She feels so lousy right now, though, that when I told her it looked like she wouldn't be going, she didn't even care. I've been a little anxious about her going to a campout so young but I was ok with it because I trust my neighbor who is going. Perhaps this is an answer to my prayer, huh?

It was very hot today. I believe we set a new record high for mid-June at 96 degrees today. I think our average temps for this time of year are around 75 degrees. June weather usually sucks. I think this heat suck in a different way, though. The temperature inside our house at 6:30pm tonight? Ninety one.

It occurs to me that this stuffy nose *I* have may be a cold, too, since I don't usually get stuff with allergies. I get runny. Hmmmm...I sure hope not. The last thing I need right now is to have a cold while Joey has a cold.

Oh, and I have the supreme delight of being in possession of a giant, red zit on the end of my big old Rudolph nose. At first I thought it was a sunburn but it's not. It's a zit.

And now the birds are singing very loudly. How am I supposed to go back to sleep with the freaking birds singing like that? I mean really? I love birds. I think they're really cool. I have a bird feeder in the backyard. But they're noisy! And they start their noisiness around 4:30, apparently.

So, to recap: nervous legs, stuffy nose, unseasonably hot weather, Joey has a cold, I have either allergies or a cold or both, big zit on nose and loud birds. Just in case you missed anything.

On the upside, my jam tastes really really good. I had 4 pieces of toast today with jam on top and they were delicious. I'm sure I'll be having more for breakfast which may come much sooner than anticipated if I don't fall back to sleep.

I found out tonight that an acquaintance of mine has been through the wringer lately. Two months ago, her husband lost his job and on that day, she found out she was pregnant. And then just recently, she lost the baby. I feel so bad for both of them. And another acquaintance lost his job today. And two men I know from church have been out of work since January. I thought there was some economic recovery going on. What the hell is all this? These are intelligent, imminently employable people with advanced degrees and such. I guess those economists weren't kidding when they said that the west coast would lag behind in coming out of the recession. Sheesh!

I'm going to try to fall asleep again. I think there's an old rerun of Simon & Simon on that will likely bore me enough to fall asleep. See ya!

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...