Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
06-04-2002 @ 11:48 p.m.
Hazy Day

Yesterday was spent in a haze of sleepiness. I stayed up too late on Sunday night (don't know why, particularly) so when I got up Monday, I was exhausted. Then I went back to bed at 7:30 and got up at 9:30 for a classroom mom meeting and when that was over, I ran a quick errand and then came home and took a dang nap. I was so sleepy. I felt like I'd been drugged or something. It wasn't until evening that I came out of that haze and had the wakefulness to work on my portfolio.

I cut 8 window mats yesterday for my Face of Time series. I also found 8 quotes to go with my series and I'm really happy about them. They're fun to read. I'm very happy with the way the series turned out--I plan to hang them in my hallway gallery when Ed builds me some frames.

My critique went well today. Got unanimous approval on my portraits. My work isn't edgy but I feel like I'm beyond needing to do that. I *know* what I like and what I want to do and it has nothing to do with pushing any envelopes. It has to do with taking beautiful portraits and making people happy when they see their likeness in my work. I was so happy when I saw Lauren's reaction to my work--and that's the satisfaction I seek. I don't need a gallery showing--I want my work hanging in people's homes and loved and cherished because of who is in it.

We had our bookgroup discussion tonight. The book was the Mil@gro Beanfield W@r but I didn't finish it. It's a very long, dense book. I couldn't believe how much stuff was packed into this 600+ page book. I plan to finish it on my own time, though. Very entertaining reading, to be sure. But the discussion was lively and interesting. We had a long digression on the Frontier House. Somehow it related to some point we were making about the book but it was a good discussion in and of itself. We also had a discussion on The Little Red Hen which I thought was an interesting digression, too. I'm not entirely sure where that one came from, though.

I love bookgroup. We sit around and eat good food and talk about authors and good books and also make many digressions about our lives, children, spouses, etc. I look forward to bookgroup all month long. Next month marks our 6 year of existence (even though there are only 3 charter members) and even when I don't like the book or haven't read/finished the book (which was too often when I was in school full time), I always loved the camaraderie and the discussion.

Tomorrow I get my eyes checked. I have a feeling I'll be coming away with a pair of glasses. ::sigh::

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...