Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
03-25-2002 @ 11:15 p.m.
Vacation Preparations

Today, Amy and Chad have been married 2 years. It has been a very fast 2 years--seems to me like that wedding was just last week. It was Jamie's anniversary, too. Bon anniversaire, y'all.

The day was spent in preparations for our trip tomorrow. You know, the usual: laundry, tidying up the house, calling people to take care of loose ends like kitty care and garbage set out. Stacey called me and said she had some free time since Baylee was at Tae Kwon Do came until 5pm so she came by for a couple of hours. She helped me fold clothes and we chatted. It was really nice. The distance that I've felt between us melted and we were able to really talk. I told her that Ed and I had decided to adopt a baby. She was surprised but delighted to hear it. She offered me her high chair and any other baby stuff she has left since I gave everything away--stroller, car seats, high chairs, etc.--except for my crib. We talked at length about the decision process and a bit about my feelings about the infertility. When we were getting ready to leave, she hugged me and I said "Will you still hang out with me when I have a baby?" She laughed and said "of course." I said, in a mock sad voice, "We won't be the same anymore" and then shocked me by saying "You never know--maybe I'll have one, too." She doesn't want to be pregnant again but she is slightly interested in adopting. She didn't want to go it alone, though, and as long as I was an only-child mom it was really easy for her to do the same. But if there is going to be someone to share the experience with, it makes the decision a lot easier for her. She told me she thought I was brave. It is kind of weird to be starting over again--it's been a long time.

I just colored my hair but it is a disappointing color. I have to remind myself never to buy that color again. As soon as I saw it, I remembered that I didn't like this color when I tried it last time. Drat! So now, instead of vibrant orangey-red, I have this faint auburny brown. Blech! This absolutely does *not* match my personality. It's pretty much what I was trying to get away from (besides the grey) when I started coloring my hair to match a persimmon. As soon as we get back from our trip, I'll be rectifying this situation. I'll just have to live with boring light auburny brown for a week.

I'm looking forward to our getaway--I'm all packed. I need to get Joey packed and gather our driving entertainments together, take Joey to the orthodontist tomorrow, write a note for my neighbor with phone numbers for the friends we are visiting, load up the car and make our travelling sandwich. It's a big deli-sort of sammy with roasted chicken and bacon and avocadoes and tomatoes and prosciutto and cheese, some dressings and it's in a big long loaf that I load up and then press. While we're driving, I slice off hunks and we eat it. Mmmm. I love it. I make it for picnics and travelling because it's easy to put together and easy to eat on the road. I need to pack some beverages, too. Then we can beat it outta Dodge. Wee haw!

Don't have too much fun while I'm away, ok? Great. See you on Sunday!

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...