Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
12-25-2001 @ 11:13 p.m.
Where the Hell Have I Been?

Good Lord, it's been a long time since I updated! Lest you think Ed and I have been sexing it up since Friday, I'll tell you that we had to get back to reality when we picked up Joey on Saturday morning. But Friday was, uh, divine. Yeah, that's it.... divine.

But back to reality. We spent the weekend preparing for the holiday festivities. Ed took Joey shopping and I can't remember what I did. I'm sure it was good, though. I hosted our annual Christmas Eve Pizza Feast with the Griffins, the Bowers, Amy and Chad, my dad and grandma. The pizza was delish, though I am thinking of making some changes to my pizza making. I'm not sure what, yet, but it will start with a new crust recipe. That's the key.

We had our gift exchange with Amy and Chad before dinner--that was great fun. Amy loved the photo of Dad I did for her and her bowl. It's always gratifying when the gifts you choose are well received.

Today was really fun. It started out rough--for some reason Grandma wasn't finished wrapping her gifts so after breakfast (we eat before opening the gifts), Dad took her home and she spent an hour getting those gifts together, even though I had given her tissue and bags to just dump stuff in to. Dad lost his patience and left him there so when Grandma was ready, I had to go over there and pick her up. It was extremely irritating and I wanted to knock both their heads together. I couldn't believe that Grandma didn't have her gifts ready and actually, more than being irritated, it had me worried about her mentation. She just didn't seem to be tracking properly--she knew it was Christmas but she didn't seem to *get it* that she needed to HURRY because we had an extremely excited 8-year-old who was dying to open gifts, which we should have been doing at 10:30 when breakfast was over, not at 11:30. But Joey was a trooper and we made it.

She was utterly delighted with her gifts. She got a lot of Groovy Girls gear--dolls and other acoutrements--which made her squeal but the thing that she wanted so badly--a Pikachu Nintendo 64--caused such a reaction! I don't think I've ever seen such a deleriously happy child before. She didn't care about the Game Cube or the X Box, she just wanted a Nintendo, and boy were we happy about that! Several times today, she came up to me and told me how happy she was about her gifts and how much she loved them. I really love an appreciative child!

I cooked a spiral-cut ham for dinner with a potato casserole and green salad and rolls. It was a really low-key dinner. The Olmsteads came over and ate with us, then after dinner, the girls played together with their toys and Dad taught us a new poker game--Texas Hold'em. It was great fun! Before we started playing, though, Dad asked if I had any of Sunday's pumpkin pie leftover (no) and then joked that I should just whip one up. I realized that I had leftover pie mix and pie crust dough in the freezer so I really *did* just whip one up. It baked while we played. After we'd had our fill of Texas Hold'em, we played some seven card stud. I ended up the serious big winner. Yay me! Wish we'd have been playing for real money instead of chips. ::Sigh:: Daddy taught us poker etiquette and betting strategies. It was really great. Then we ate pie (I put it in the freezer to hasten cooling) and just hung out after that. Stacey and Ed played with Joey's Harry Potter computer game, Mark and Dad talked gambling, and later, after Dad left, we all played Extreme BopIt. That's a seriously fun game! We had a very fun time and made plans to see Lord of the Rings tomorrow. After I go to the mall, of course. :-)

Ed loved his black leather jacket that I was so excited to give him. Mmmm--leather. He's a serious bad ass now!

Daddy gave me a wonderful alpaca poncho thing from Peru. It looks like a big rectangle blanket with a hold in the middle for my head. It will be my new couch cozy! I'm weathing it right now and it is seriously warm. I always get chilled sitting here on the couch in front of the window--my shoulders, especially. Now I have this very great warm thing on me and I *love* it. A fashion statement it is not, but a warm, wonderful, cozy thing it is.

I'm glad that holiday is over but it always seems to be over too quickly. I hate hate hate putting Christmas gifts away--where am I going to put it all? Some of it is easy--my new CD (Nickelback--ooh, it's GREAT!) is easy. The Nintendo? I dunno. The new food processor? I dunno. And I hate to put the tree away--it's such a pain in the ass. At least this tree should be easier because it is primarily balls and it belongs to Amy. But still, I hate knowing I have this big Putting Away Job ahead of me. But I can put it off a few days more--I usually have a New Year's Day tradition of putting away the Christmas stuff.

But tomorrow is shopping. Yee haw! Now I get to shop for me. Mua ha ha ha!

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...