Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
12-20-2001 @ 10:22 p.m.
Big News

Joey's class party went off with only one hitch--one of the classroom coordinators was late with her part of the party--a Polaroid camera and paper frames--but when she finally got there, she caught up quickly and the kids had a blast making stamped Christmas cards, decorating (and eating!) sugar cookies, decorating Christmas trees made out of green painted pine cones glued to gold painted small terra cotta pots, playing musical dots (instead of musical chairs) and putting their thumbprints on a big Christmas card for the teacher. It was really fun but I am quite glad it is over. Whew!

So now all I need to do is wrap gifts, which is what I'm up to tomorrow. I hope I can get most of them done tomorrow. I don't like to leave the wrapping stuff out more than one day, if possible.

Amy came over today for lunch and a visit and gave me a wonderful surprise. She told me that she and her husband are trying to get pregnant! This may not be a big deal if you don't know Amy, but until rather recently, she wasn't 100% convinced that she wanted children and figured that if she did have one, it would likely be through adoption. But she has decided that she's definitely ready to be a mom and definitely ready to be pregnant. I was beside myself with joy, just hearing that they were trying. She's worried that she'll be infertile like me, though. Lord, I pray pray pray that she isn't and that she and Chad can conceive quickly. She's 33, after all. She doesn't have tons of time to go about this.

I just can't believe it--I'll get to be an Auntie. I mean a real Auntie--not to just 2 nieces who live 3000+ miles away and who belong more to Ed's family. I have always wanted to be an Auntie to Amy's kids and I was bummed that I wouldn't have the chance. Joey has such a great relationship with her Aunties and she loves them so much. They are just big balls of love and she eats it up. I want to have that with someone. It's kind of like being a Grandma, but you don't have to wait for your kids to grow up and have babies. She promised I can be at the delivery--in fact, she said she woulndn't do it without me--and she also said I could take pictures of her pregnant belly. Ooh! I'm so excited. When I asked if I could take pictures, she said that Chad had asked her if she thought I would be willing to do them. That cracked me up.

This just has to happen. It just has to. I'm using whatever pull I have with the Powers That Be (admittedly it is small) asking for her to be blessed with a conception--quick, if possible.

I'm just all aflutter thinking about it. It's almost as exciting as when I started trying to get pregnant. She's not ready to tell people what their plans are but I'm not people. I'm special. :-)

I wonder what will happen to her naval ring when her belly gets bigger and bigger. Think it will stretch out?

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...