Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
12-18-2001 @ 9:16 p.m.
The Fancy Tea Party

First, a rant. Ed watches the TV too loudly. Not that *he's* too loud, but the TV is too loud. I hate Loud TV. It makes me crazy. I'm all the time turning down the volume and he's all the time turning it up. It's not like he can't hear--he probably has better hearing than me since I have some high frequency hearing loss in my left ear and can't hear things like whispers in that ear--so I don't understand what the freaking hell is his problem. Drives me nucking futs! Reminds me of living with my nearly deaf as a post Grandfather for 2 years. You could hear the TV out in the driveway when he was watching the news. As you can probably imagine, Ed is right this minute watching TV and it is too loud. On top of that, it's a TV program that I'm not the least bit interested in so it's loud and it's boring. Bleh!

*----*

Today was the Fancy Tea Party. Every year at Christmastime, my best friend, her daughter, my sister, her niece and my daughter and I go to downtown Portland to the Heathman Hotel to their tea court for afternoon tea. It is a splendidly civilized and wonderful afternoon, too. We buy fancy dresses for the girls (and wear whatever fancy dresss we happen to have) and get all dolled up for the event. One of my favorite parts is valet parking. I'm a Valet Parking Whore--it's my favorite thing about Las Vegas, too. Then we sit in the tea court and order our lovely tea--chamomile for me and the other grownups, hot cocoa for the girls (though Joey opted for chamomile herself this year) and wait for our plates of goodies--savouries and sweets.

The girls get the Peter Rabbit tea which gives them little tiny PBJs, goldfish crackers, cookies, cheese cubes, fruit and cocoa. Joey has decided that she's ready for the grownup tea plate, though. She tasted and wanted all of my goodies instead of her own. That's my girl. Her favorite part was the smoked salmon sandwiches made with puff pastry. Mmmmmm.

After we have our tea, we have the obligatory picture taking session by the giant Christmas tree and on the stairs with their beautiful decorations behind us. It takes awhile to get all the incarnations of girls and moms/aunts in the pictures. I took 18 today. I *so* love our Tea Party pictures, though. I have years of them--this is our 6th year of doing it with Stacey and Baylee. I have 2 years of going to tea previously with Cherri, once when Joey was a newborn. It is always so much fun.

When the picture taking is over and we have looked at all the decorations, we get in our cars and head over to Pioneer Place mall and do some shopping. I went to the Children's place and got the cutest fleece shirt for Joey--it looks like orange/pink/yellow tie dye fleece and the sleeves are flared. Talk about kyoot! I also bought a pair of sparkly melon colored jeans with orange splotches on the bottom and an orange shirt for DeLyn's little Julia for Christmas. Since DeLyn has no family around to get her the kewl stuff for Julia and since she won't buy it herself, I have to do it for her. It's my job, mon.

I also helped Joey pick out a Christmas gift for Ed. She picked out something he'll really like but I shan't mention it in case he's reading this. (Ooh, maybe he is reading this and he'll understand how irritating I find his LOUD TV viewing. One can only hope.)

We spent a very long time in a candle store called Illuminations. If you haven't been to one of these stores, hie thee quickly to a mall and find one. They are wonderful. I'm just crazy about that store. They carry a pink grapefruit candle that could absolutely fool you into thinking you were smelling a freshly cut grapefruit. Incredible. I'd love to spend a lot of money there and fill my house with wonderful scented candles and beautiful candle holders and candlebras and candle chandeliers. It would be so medieval!

After all the shopping, the girls wanted to see Santa so we stood in the mercifully short line and they sat on his lap. Joey told him that for Christmas she wanted for everyone to have a good Christmas. That's all she asked for. Isn't that sweet? It's nowhere near the truth, though. She certainly *does* want other things, but she also truthfully wants for everyone to have as great a Christmas as she has. I like that sentiment.

Ed just turned up the freaking TV! He says he can't hear over the clicking of my computer keys. How lame is that????

So that was my great day. I loved it and I got all choked up thinking about how much I love this tradition we've established. I love that we have this great event that we look forward to all year long and that is so delightful and wonderful. Perhaps someday she and I will take her daughters (and/or sons) to tea at the Heathman, too. I'd really love that.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...