Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
12-13-2001 @ 10:27 p.m.
Lobotomybabe and the Blustery Day

Like Mary, I experienced a very WET, very DREARY Pacific Northwest December day. It was so dark--the skies were a charcoal grey all day. But the worst part was the wind. Omigosh was it WINDY! The wind sprayed the rain straight into my ears and into my face and soaked me to the bone on my many trips from the car to Costco, Safeway, the scrapbook store, the ceramic store, Marshall's, etc., etc. Crazy town, I tell you. I felt like a drowned rat and I had an earache almost all day from the freezing rain pounding my eardrums.

Amy spent the day with me. Gosh, I miss having her run around with me. When we were planning her wedding, we were together all the time. And when she was nannying for me, we often took off after work all the time and did stuff. I miss that so much. For the last year and a half or so, she's been so tied up with her new job and getting through probation at the firestation that she just didn't have time for much else. Even her husband and stepson have felt slighted. But she's through with probation and has more time now. I really hope that means we can spend more time together.

At 7:30 or so, Joey wanted to cuddle with me so we got comfy on the couch and I was promptly overwhelmed with fatigue and fell asleep. Not light sleep either--mouth breathing, dreaming, sound sleep. Until 9pm. Crap! Now how am I going to go to sleep at a decent time tonight? Ack!

I have freshly colored hair today, though. I love it when my hair is newly colored. It just makes my whole week. I wish I could color my hair every other week just to keep that new-color look and feel. My hair would shrivel up and fall out, though, so I guess it wouldn't be worth it.

Ok, Alice--if you need some other reasons besides a Costco partner and book group to uproot your family and move north to Oregon, I can give you dozens of reasons (today's weather notwithstanding). My annual Christmas bash, my annual Pagan Springtime Ritual (aka Easter Egg Hunt), our International Dinner Group, our clean, clear air, beautiful mountains, being within 90 minutes of either the beach or the mountains and ski slopes, the lack of a sales tax, the wonderful family-friendly atmosphere, the (usually) mild four-season weather, the lush green trees and lawns and bushes, the incredible Powell's City of Books top the list. Ask Mary and Tricia about my penchant for talking up Portland. I've been trying to lure the two of them here for years now. :-)

Grandma is going to be coming over the pass tomorrow on her way back to Portland. I hope the ride isn't too scary for her. The shuttle does this trip twice a day, every single day, weather notwithstanding, and has chains and good drivers. Still, I worry. I'll definitely be saying extra prayers until I see her tomorrow.

Now I need to bring my groceries in from the car. They've been there all evening. It was cold and windy and raining so much that I decided they'd be just fine there until the weather cooperated better.

Later...

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...