Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
12-12-2001 @ 9:03 p.m.
Stayin' Awake, Stayin' Awake... M m m m ...Stayin' Awake

It is freaking amazing what you can get done in a day when you get up at 7am and stay up. I was some kind of whirling dervish today and boy did I like it. I finished matting and framing all the pictures I'm giving as gifts to my family and even rematted one that I did a few days ago that I didn't like. Then I put all the framing/matting/mounting supplies away (and there were many), cleaned up the office (finding a lost expense report in a stack of Joey's artwork--yay!), put lots of crap in the recycling and in the garage, organized the shelves/office organizer so it would look presentable during the party on Saturday.

Joey was late getting home today. A few minutes after she walked in the door, her face clouded up and she began to cry. The bus was late getting to the school and it really stressed her out. She was afraid it wouldn't come and she'd be stuck at the school. I held her and talked to her and we formulated a plan for if something like that ever happened in the future. I told her that she could always call me--just go to the office--anytime she is scared or needs to talk to me or wants a ride home. Her teacher had told her to wait for the bus so she thought she couldn't leave the group and go to the office and call me and the poor little thing was so uptight and afraid and anxious. I felt so bad for her. But she was ok after we talked a bit and cuddled.

My FIL mailed us a very heavy package filled with about 20 gifts. It cost more than $46 to mail. I just can't believe he would spend almost $50 to mail us gifts! I'm feeling bad that we didn't even spend $50 on their gift total! Then again, it's the thought, right? I made gifts for them. I took a B&W photo of Joey, hand tinted it, matted and framed it myself and then Joey and I painted them a Christmas cookie plate. So the gifts weren't spendy but they were from the heart. I suspect that many of the gifts in that box were from his visit to Japan this summer when he climbed to the top of Mt. Fuji.

Joey and I did a bit of Christmas shopping at a wonderful independent toystore here in our tiny town. We bought some Groovy Girls stuff for various little people and some games and got a gift certificate for another child. Oh, and I got some Sea Monkeys for our gift exchange at the party. We have a good gift (a crystal biscuit jar) and a white elephant-type gift (the Sea Monkeys). I think they will be a big hit (?) at the party. I love this store--it has great educational toys, costumes, puppets, science experiments, Klutz books (including Shrinky Dinks!), Groovy Girls, Madeline, kitchen toys, high quality games, Lincoln logs, Thomas the Tank Engine, American Girls, and Books. Lots and lots of childrens books and books on parenting. It is owned by a former elementary school teacher and she reads to the kids in their pajamas in the evenings and has story time during the day for preschoolers. She knows everything in that store and can recommend a book or toy or game for anyone. She's a gem and this store is truly wonderful. And the most amazing thing about it is that it is totally thriving in our very small town. I just love that I don't have to leave town to get a birthday present. Her prices are a little higher than the bigger stores, but then again, much of what she has isn't available at other stores. Still, I'd rather pay her $11 for a Groovy Girl and support a wonderful local business that is only 5 minutes from my front door than drive 20-25 minutes in traffic, find a place to park at the mall and then elbow my way through fellow shoppers to get to Nordstrom and get my dolls for $10. It's worth a buck to save all that driving and hassle.

Tomorrow is food shopping day for the party. Time to hit Costco (egh) and Safeway. Amy is joining me--I'm so glad. She and I haven't had much time to spend together and I sure miss her. Sometimes I almost forget I have a sister who lives semi-nearby because we'll go so long without seeing each other. She and Chad are coming to my party on Saturday. The first time every. I'm just beside myself with joy!

And Alice, I wish you lived close enough to be in my bookgroup, too!

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...