Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
11-24-2001 @ midnightish
The Long and The Short of It

I couldn't write an entry yesterday because our DSL ISP was down for about 12 hours. That was seriously painful. I was reduced to watching TV with no computer crutch. It was awful!

The day yesterday started nicely--we went to Baylee's baptism. She was very excited and it was nice to see good friends there.

The day worsened, though. We borrowed our neighbor's truck to get a Christmas tree after the baptism and when Ed was backing out of a driveway, he hit a low mailbox (which we couldn't see at *all* from the truck becuase it was so low and the truck was so high) and broke the tail light. Arrggh! We finished getting our tree (which included a hike to the top of a rather steep hill) and came back home to confess our misdeeds. They were very kind and I promised I'd take their car in. I called a Dodge dealership and found one that had the light in stock--and it was only $58! I said I'd pick it up around 4pm when I took Joey to Baylee's birthday party and they said that was fine. An hour later (at 3pm), however, they said they needed to use their truck by 4:15 and could we go get the light and bring it back by then? (Would that they had said something an hour earlier when I told them of my arrangements!)

The dealership was about 25 mins. away without traffic so we weren't sure if it was possible to get it and install it in about 70 minutes but Ed hopped up and ran out there. I had to leave at 3:40 so I couldn't do it. Fortunately, he made it back by about 4:10 and they got it installed quickly. I don't want to say anything bad about our neighbors because they were very kind in lending us their truck (you can bet we won't ask to borrow anything again, though!) but I wish when we first got home at 1:45, they had told us right then that they needed their truck that night and didn't want to risk getting a ticket by driving with a broken tail light. It would have made things a lot less stressful for us. At any rate, it's all resolved. And we have our Christmas tree acclimating in the garage right now.

After the tail light fiasco, I took Joey to her birthday party at Build-A-Bear Workshop and then had the evening to myself. She was going to spend the night with Baylee and Ed was going to play Age of Empires against several of his friends so I had no one to cater to except myself. I did what any one at a mall would do in that situation--I shopped. I knocked out about half my shopping list, in fact! It was really terrific. I'm quite delighted--I have almost all the difficult gifts to choose purchased. Now it's just a matter of matting and framing some photos for various and sundry family members, mailing the out of town gifts and picking out some books for all the children on my list and I'll be 95% done.

While I was at the mall, I had the MAC woman put a new lipstick color on me. She chose a plum linter with O lipstick. It was darker than the neutral, medium orange and mocha colors I usually wear. She asked if I wanted them and I said I needed to take the colors for a test drive by checking in all the mirrors I saw along the way. When I got back to my house, my dad was here and he said he really liked the new lip color so I think I'll get it when I got back. It will be a good color for winter, I do believe. And I love a new lipstick! Merry Christmas to me.

This morning, Dad and I picked up Joey and Baylee (we were keeping Baylee for the day so Stacey could do a photo shoot at a wedding and then at the reception) and went to breakfast. Dad's brocolli, cheese and mushroom omelette topped with Hollandaise sauce was really great.

Once home, I turned around and went back out to the grocery store to get things needed for our Thanksgiving Dinner Encore With Dad. I came home and made a pumpkin pie. While it baked, I played cribbage with my dad. I beat him twice (even skunked him) and then he beat me handily before the pie was finished. Once it was out of the oven, I put the turkey and dressing in to warm them, made mashed potatoes, heated the gravy, made macaroni and cheese for Joey and Baylee and got all the rest of the goodies out. Our Thanksgiving Feast Part Deux was so delicious! I think it was even better than the first one. And the pie? Oh the pie! It was the best pumpkin pie I've ever tasted, I tell you very immodestly. ::wink::

Amy and Chad came by while we were watching the Miami/UW game and hung out for about 2 hours. It was the longest time I'd spent with them in weeks. Months, maybe.

And then when Amy and Baylee were gone, we turned on It's a Wonderful Life (because the only other alternative was Rudolf, and like HerWorship, I have issues with that program). It was delicious to sit down and watch the movie in its entirety with my Daddy. I really love that movie--I love Jimmy Stewart's portrayal of George Bailey, a wonderfully flawed but ultimately heartwarming and loveable character.

And it still chokes me up at the end when the whole town comes to his rescue and when his brother Harry proposes a toast to his brother George, "the richest guy in town." I like that.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...