Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
11-11-2001 @ 10:31 p.m.
Grandma and Joey

I'm watching the newest Michael Jackson video and I'm struck by what a freak he has turned into. And it breaks my heart because he is enormously talented and has played a huge role in the history of music in the last half of the 20th century. But man, somewhere along the line he just went nucking futs.

Today was a lovely day. After a peaceful and relaxing morning, I showered and got ready for church. I prepared a pot roast with potatoes and carrots and put it in the crockpot to braise while we went to church. After church, Grandma came over for dinner. And it was a delicious dinner we had--the roast and vegetables were great and I added steamed brocolli, warmed rolls and gravy to the meal.

After dinner, Joey dragged Grandma into her room to tell her some stories that Joey had written. She liked using the karaoke machine to tell the stories and Grandma was entertained by it. Then Joey decided to tell Grandma all about all the things in her room. After we took Grandma home, Joey said "You know, Mom, I used to not enjoy being with Grandma but today I really had fun with her and liked being with her. I want to spend the night at her house soon." It was very heartwarming. Joey has always been very nice to my grandmother but I could tell it was a forced niceness--she was warm to her because she knew she should be, not because she necessarily felt it. I was glad to hear what she was telling me--Grandma is 88 years old and I don't know how much longer she'll be with us. I'd like Joey to have warm and loving memories of this sweet woman who only wanted to be loved and to love in return.

After Joey went to bed, I worked on my self portraits that I need for my photography class. I did some last Sunday with Joey being my "clicker" as she called it, but I wanted more. Since I have gotten into the habit of wearing makeup only on Sundays, I wanted to take the pictures while I still had my make up on. My hair turned out really great today--what a pleasant surprise!--so I figured this would be a good evening to take my pictures. I have no idea how they will turn out but I guess I'll find out this week when I develop the film.

That just reminded me that I need to call Mike back about doing some "ghost rider" pictures. I've got to put that on my list of things to do very soon.

My eyes are very dry and tired, now. One of the bad things about only wearing makeup once or twice a week is that my eyes are accustomed to being makeup free and they get irritated easily when I have makeup on. I think I just need to go to bed and let my eyes rest.

I'm wearing one of my new Land's End turtlenecks and I love love love it! These new turtlenecks are the nicest ones I've ever worn. I wish I had 3 or 4 more. Hmmm.....

Later!

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...