Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
10-24-2001 @ 12:01 a.m.
In-tox-i-ca-a-a-tion...

Last night, Ed took a sleeping pill but didn't go right to bed so he ended up in this sort of intoxicated state where he stumbled around and remembers none of the last 30 minutes he was "awake." He doesn't remember washing his face and saying "This does't feel like my face." He doesn't remember brushing his teeth twice in 30 minutes. He doesn't remember walking out to the garage and getting a quart of ice cream, coming back inside, cutting himself a hunk of apple cake, dishing up some very hard ice cream and then sitting on the couch and eating the aforementioned cake while falling asleep every 30 seconds or so. He doesn't remember saying "The Inventory Build is up" which is apparently something he might say at work but which meant nothing to me. He doesn't remember me yelling at him every half minute or minute because he almost dropped his plate of melty ice cream about 10 times. He doesn't remember licking the plate afterward and then brushing his teeth (the 2nd time) before going to bed. He doesn't remember a long conversation we had about a classmate of Joey's who is very spoiled and very sassy and who was very mean to my neighbor's daughter.

It took me all night tonight to convince him that he actually had cake last night. He said that he remembered thinking "I want some cake but it's late and I've already brushed my teeth" and the next thing that happened was that he was cutting cake. I thought he was walking to bed but he was stumbling to the freezer for ice cream. Amazing.

For years he denied that it was possible for him to "wake me up" in the morning and have conversations wiht me and then have me fall right back to sleep and have no recollection of the conversation. Ha! Vindication. It has happened to him.

Poor Joey--she had a bathroom accident today. She waited too long to go and then instead of telling her teacher that she had to go to the bathroom Right Then, she held the door when her teacher asked her to. So then she gets to the bathroom and can't get her overalls down fast enough. She got it unhooked, dropped it into the toilet and then peed in her pants a little bit. Poor kid--she was so upset about it. She cried and said that she felt like she couldn't be near anyone after it happened because they would smell it on her (it was odorless). She spent the afternoon feeling bad that her pants were wet, trying desperately to avoid detection. It was slightly traumatic for her but she got over it pretty quickly. She got changed and we hugged for a few minutes and then all was forgotten, though she asked me to tell Daddy about it after she went to bed because she would be embarrassed to tell him or hear me tell him.

I made homemade french fries tonight. I dunno why--just felt like it. It was a hell of a lot of work--I won't be repeating that any time soon. I'd rather go to Giant Burger and get homemade fries from them. They were tasty, to be sure, but what a hassle!

I spent about an hour or so this afternoon chatting with my neighbor. She was unloading her frustration about her husband's "I told you this would happen" attitude to their current financial tightness. She doesn't want to hear I told you so, she wants to hear How can we fix it? It was good to talk with her. She's such a nice person. Really a quality individual. She reminds me, by her example, so speak softly but firmly with Joey instead of engaging in a shouting match.

Ed is taking the afternoon off tomorrow so I can go to the photo lab. He might work from home a bit. I'm just delighted that he's willing to help out like that. What a guy, eh?

Later...

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...