Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
10-23-2001 @ 10:54 p.m.
Pampering Dad

Tonight my Daddy came for dinner. I love to make dinner for my Dad, especially since my mother's death, because I know he gets so little home cooking and really good food. He was a pampered man--my mother took very good care of him and fed him well all their 37 years of marriage--and one of the things I like to do is pamper him a little when he comes to visit.

I know you're all dying to know what I fixed. We had roasted pork tenderloin that I had put a dry rub on (garlic, sage, allspice, pepper, salt, Mrs. Dash), jasmine rice, steamed brocolli, and fresh, homemade cranberry-tangerine relish. It was very delicious--I got the recipe from Stacey and it is quite easy to make. (Email me if you want the recipe.) For dessert, I made my grandmother's delectable fresh apple cake with cinnamon whipped cream. It was a perfect fall dinner and everything turned out wonderfully.

After dinner, I went with Dad to Jimmy G's Family Billiards to take pictures of him playing pool. I'm not sure where they got the Family idea--I'd certainly never take a child to that smoky place. Near as I can tell, it's a Family Billiards place because there is no bar. It's just pool tables and video games. And smoke. (And I stink like stale smoke right now--time for a pre-bed shower.) I shot an entire roll of 36 exposures, some set up, some abstract and some candid. I'm very anxious to see them but I won't be able to get them until Friday at the soonest.

When my father was about my age, he took a photography class or two at a local community college. My sisters and I were his favorite models and I loved looking at his pictures as a child. But the times being what they were, money was tight and he wasn't able to really pursue photography the way he wanted to. So now I'm the one in my mid-30s taking a photography class at a local community college and now he's the one who is the model. Joey asked me to take some pictures with my regular camera tonight, too. By that, she means my point-and-shoot camera with color film. She's not crazy about the black and white photos I've been taking because there's no color in them.

The kewl thing was that the people playing pool at the next table thought I was a professional photographer taking pictures of him for some publication or something. I really hated to say it was for a personal project. Maybe some day I'll get a print published. That would be really great. I'm submitting a photo to the school arts magazine.

I'll let you know how it goes.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...