Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
10-07-2001 @ 11:38 p.m.
Surprise! More About Photography. So Sue Me.

The long-awaited first strike has come. I felt oddly numb when I heard the news. Not glad. Not relieved. Not afraid. Not sad. Nothing. I felt absolutely nothing. I think I'm all feeled out.

So we had a lovely, quiet, stay-at-home-all-day Sunday and it was delicious. It was rendered even more delicious by the visit of Cherri and John. Since they live 3 hours away, I don't see nearly enough of them but they have season tickets to the symphony so they will be driving over the mountains at least once a month to go. We'll be at a few of the performances this spring with them. Last fall-winter-spring, we hardly saw them except at Christmas when they came for 3 or 4 days.

I've been reading my Mastering the Basics of Photography book today. Very interesting. Very enlightening. I'm learning a lot and reinforcing what we've learned in class. I'm just going crazy, though, having to wait 3 days to do anything with the film I developed on Friday. I have 2 more rolls of film to develop and I am just itching to do it. I just wish I could spend more time in the lab (or had a lab in my home).

The great thing is that Ed is really supporting and encouraging my work here. He's been doing a lot of research on lenses and tripods and lots of other things for photography. I love it. I love how he's really into it with me, supposing that I might want to get a newer camera in the not-too-distant future, wanting to make sure I get the kind of equipment I really want and that is of high enough quality that it will last me a long time. I love him. And I love how he's getting into this with me. He knows it's something I've always wanted to explore and it's just so great to be able to explore it with him. Sometimes he gets antagonistic about my interests if he things they aren't worthwhile (by his estimation) or if my "hobbies" cost too much money (like scrapbooking or gift wrapping). I don't think of photography as a hobby for me. I don't know what it is to me yet, but it is most assuredly *not* a hobby.

Yay--school tomorrow. That means printing and developing and more printing and more developing. Ah--I can hardly wait. I think I'll arrange a play date for Joey on Tuesday so I can go to the open lab time in the afternoon. I think I'll fall asleep tonight thinking about shots I want to set up and subjects I want to photograph and the places I want to go to photograph and... and... and...

....drifting off to sleep.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...