Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
10-04-2001 @ midnightish
Want To Watch This Video?

This is likely to be a short entry. I can hear your sobs and wails now.

First of all, I am watching a video right now about how to start a vitamin and supplement business right here in my own home and while doing practically nothing, I can earn $500, $1000, even $10,000 a month! And start up costs are only $400. And this guy on the video just told his mother he's going to be the first millionaire in the family and it made her cry. I wish I *weren't* watching this lame-ass video buy my friend gave it to me when I mentioned that I was changing my career aspirations. I can't believe she gave me this steekeeng video. I've been putting off watching it--I've had it a month--but we're having lunch today and she asked for it back. I know she'll ask me what I think of it and so I have to have watched it. I'm wondering what part of "I'm going to graduate school in English to teach writing" made her think "Ah, you would be a good candidate to sell vitamins."?

So, yesterday morning I helped out in Joey's classroom. That was cool. I'll be there every Thursday morning to do reading group and then to kind of wander around the classroom helping out until Lunch. I totally dug it. And guess what other cool thing I found out? The co-room mom and I get to plan a HALLOWEEN PARTY for Joey's class. Yes, you heard that right--we're having a freaking Halloween party in a PUBLIC school classroom. That is too much fun to believe! I thought all holidays were verboten in the public school classroom lest someone feel oppressed. I'm doing a happy co-room mom dance right now.

And here is the part where I tell you what a devoted mom I am. I believe I have mentioned the defective karaoke machine haven't I? Well, I was feeling really bad that we couldn't find a replacement machine for less than $150. The one we originally bought was on clearance at Target for $69 and we were very excited about it. They said they were phasing out that machine and were only going to carry the $150 one after that. Ed went to the four Targets in the area and they had none of the clearance one left. We looked online, at Radio Shack, and at every other place we could think of. I was feeling rotten about it so I decided to take matters into my own hands. I looked up the phone numbers of every Target in Western Oregon and started calling yesterday morning. I found one, finally, at the Target out by the airport. I changed my plans for the day and headed right out there. Success--I got the machine. Then I did some other shopping at Target. That part was fun.

Around 2:00 I finally got ahold of Ed to tell him about my coup. Before I get a chance to tell him about my success, he says "I went out at lunch and got Joey a karaoke machine. It's the newer model of the one we bought that was defective." Arrrggghhh! So I returned mine (not all the way out by the airport, though. I went to the one near the mall where I was buying my friend a cellphone). I couldn't believe it. First we couldn't even find one then we had too many! Oh well--Joey got her birthday present and she loves it.

We went to bookgroup last night and it was a lame discussion. Then again, there's not much to discuss about a humor book except "hey, remember this part? heh heh That was funny, wasn't it?" But we did make an important change--now instead of meeting on the first Tuesday, we'll meet on the first Thursday. I'm not crazy about the change but I'm not opposed to it either.

Oh, the pediatrician called and said that Joey's bone age is right in line with her chronological age so she isn't suffering from precocious puberty. She's just developing early. Great. Just what we freaking need in this family--more damn hormones. ::sigh::

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...