Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
09-29-2001 @ 11:21 p.m.
The Day After

Day two of the slumber went well--we got the girls off to the soccer game with plenty of time to spare and the game went well except for the freakish referee chick who seems more interested in metal hair clips than in the actual rules of the game. She made my daughter remove her flat-to-the-skull hair clips. Never mind that Joey has worn these clips to every game this year so far with no one noticing or caring. Joey has no bangs so without hair clips, her hair goes right in her eyes. Joey started to cry and I desperately appealed to the assembled parents for a rubber band or some kind of ponytail holder. I found one and quickly got her hair pulled back and out of her face. During the game, though, there were many times when the girl throwing the ball in was stepping over the line or let a foot come up during the toss, both of which are usually grounds for giving the ball to the other team. So apparently it's ok to disregard basic throw-in rules but by God, don't you wear a metal clip in your hair or you're out of the game.

Somehow Joey had the wakefulness to make it to another birthday party (for someone else this time) at 2pm this afternoon. I didn't think she'd be able to do it but she did. I almost wish we hadn't have gone though. I don't like this little girl at all. She is really very ill-mannered and so disrespectful to her mother who is one of the most ineffective parents I've seen. Because we were busy getting Joey's party going, I didn't have time to shop for a gift for Moira so I dropped Joey off and went to get a gift. I found a cool book of Shrinky Dinks and some kewl metallic colored pencils. Remember Shrinky Dinks? The plastic sheets that you color and bake and them make stuff out of? I loved those when I was a kid. I got back to the party when they were eating cake. They had already opened the other gifts. As I got up to the table, Moira ran up to me and *grabbed* the gift out of my hand saying "I'll take this" and proceeded to rip the paper off it. Her mother just looked at me and sort of laughed like "isn't she so cute?" I was aghast. If Joey ever tried anything like that, I swear I would have made her give the gift back. That is unacceptable behavior in my opinion. You don't let kids behave that way and then laugh it off as excitement. She's 7 years old--certainly old enough to have learned a few social graces and party manners.

After the party, Joey and I took naps before our evening entertainment. We went to the Griffins to eat snacks and play silly card games. I love game nights at the Griffins--we always laugh so much. And I love to laugh. Laughing is very good. Very good, indeed. I think people need to laugh more. Ed still wears his crown as the King of the One-Line Zinger.

Oh, my diary was reviewed by Diary Reviewers and I got 93. I was pretty happy about that. And Clare, my layout scored very well--the reviewer really liked it--so thanks!

I'm going to watch Saturday Night Live now. I hope it will be funny.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...