Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
09-22-2001 @ 11:24 p.m.
Ramblings

Thankfully, I am still here today. I heard of no terrorist activity and life continued, for me, as normally as could be. Joey played her soccer game--she had 6 kicks including one goal assist but she also got smacked on the cheek by the ball and by an elbow in rapid succession. She survived none the worse for wear after a few tears, however. We did our best to buoy up the economy by taking Joey to Toys R Us to spend her birthday money.

I read on my internet news service that Miss Oregon won the title of Miss America. I wonder if now people will finally learn how to pronounce Oregon properly. (It's ora-gun not ora-gone, FYI.) Makes me wish we had local news to see all the newscasters get excited over it. The LA news we get from our satellite wasn't nearly as effusive as the local guys would have been. Just now I saw the little blurb on Isaac Stern who died today and they had his dates at 1920-2100. Whoops!

Joey is coming down with a cold. That may mean we have to stay home from church tomorrow. I'd rather have her miss church than miss school, especially since my photography class starts on Monday.

I'm watching an interesting program about sex during WWI. Very interesting stuff, there. There's this romantic notion that things were so much more chaste "back then" but during the war, there was a saying "Live today for tomorrow we die" and this attitude resulted in a complete abadonment of sexual mores of the time. I'm almost shocked by the wantonness and debauchery they are describing on this program! They're showing clips from the oldest stag film ever made called "A Free Ride" made in 1915. They're also talking about Mata Hari. I never had any idea who she was or what she did. Apparently she wasn't a spy but rather a courtesan and exotic dancer who the Brits saw as a threat to national security.

I really wanted to write something of substance today but my mind is whipped today. I guess if I started writing before 11:30, I might be able to come up with something more cohesive and substantive than a recounting of the days events. Oh well. At least I wrote something.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...