Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
09-18-2001 @ 11:49 p.m.
The New World of Parent Volunteering

I did it. I went out in the world today. And you know what? It felt darn good. I've missed my community. I've missed shopping. Eating out. My friends. So today I had my favorite Greek salad and slice of pizza at my longtime favorite gourmet pizza place and it was divine. Then I went to Art Media and bought a big blank for my daisy stamps. Jaimie is going to carve them for me. I'm very excited. I need to get some paint now.

I was very sleepy today. I took a nap this morning (isn't that pathetic? a morning nap, fer cryin' out loud) from about 8:30 to 10:00 and then dozed off this afternoon from about 4:30 to 5pm. I usually get extra tired the last few days of my cycle but this is something different. I hope it's not another case of seasonal depression setting in already. I had a very bad case of it 3 years ago when we had 90 days of rain in a row and I'm loath to repeat the experience.

Tonight was the Parent-Teacher Advisory Committee meeting. There were about a dozen of us--3 teachers, the principal and the rest were parents. It was great to be there. I'm very excited to get involved in Joey's school. This was my first meeting with the principal and I liked her very well. Four of the parents at the meeting were from my neighborhood and 4 of us had 2nd grade girls and one of the teachers was a 2nd grade teacher. I'd say the 2nd grade was well represented, as was our lovely neighborhood. I like that. After the PTAC meeting, a parent volunteer with the school district gave us a spiel on one of the possible ways to take care of the overcrowding that will befall our 3 elementary schools and middle school and high school over the next 5-7 years. They are looking at year-round education as a stop-gap measure until at least one new elementary school can be built and the high school can be enlarged.

I have one very big issue with YRE. I changed my own education and career path so that I would be on an academic schedule to match Joey. I want to be in school when she is, on summer break when she is and I do not want to put her in daycare. I'd rather put her back in a private school on a regular schedule than do that. Other than that, I have no problem with it--I think being able to take vacations in Septembe or October or February, etc. would be great. I'd love that. And I think 3 weeks off is better than 3 months as far as retaining information is concerned. But since I've made some big changes in my life to make sure I'm available for Joey while she's in school, I want to be able to enjoy that benefit. I'd prefer not to have to pay tuition again, but I would if that were my only choice. I think the school board wants to make a decision by October 10th but I suspect there will be a lot of parents who want to make a statement or voice their concerns at that board meeting so they may not be able to take a vote that night. We'll see. I'd rather spend many hours out campaigning for a bond measure to pass in May than go to YRE.

It felt like fall today. I wore Levi's for the first time in 4 months. And my new shoes. And my new orange sweater. I also had an orange headband and my orange purse. The principal said that she'd never met anyone who had an almost head-to-toe color coordination to match her hair. It was funny.

I have a lot to do over the next few days. I'm meeting with Karina to give her the ballerina stuff tomorrow then taking the stamp blank to Jaimie for carving. After school, Joey and I have a therapy appointment (after homework) and then we need to go shopping for Ed's birthday present (which I can't reveal because he might be reading this). Thursday I have Costco to shop at and other groceries to buy, house to clean, and curriculum night at Joey's school. Friday is the school barbecue afterwhich I'm watching the neighbor boy for an hour or so and baking a cake, barbecuing ribs, making sauce, baked beans, etc. It will be busy, that's for sure. I'm feeling sleepy thinking about it.

So now I need to eat a bowl of cereal and go to bed. Nighty!

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...