Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
09-13-2001 @ 9:51 p.m.
Piano Lessons and Grandma

At the risk of seeming shallow or callous or selfish, I'm going to write an entry that does not deal with the terrorist attacks on Tuesday. Let it be known, however, that it continues to dominate my thoughts and consume my emotions. I will be lighting at candle at 7pm tomorrow and flying a flag from my house.

++++++++++

Today was Joey's first piano lesson. She loved it. She couldn't wait to get home and try out what she learned today. Ed asked her this evening how it went and she said it was the best thing in her whole day. DeLyn warned me that this honeymoon period will last about 3 months during which time she will gladly practice her lessons without much urging from me but that it likely won't last forever. Still, it is so delightful to see her excited about being able to play two songs and to learn which notes each key plays.

I spent the day with Grandma today. She needed to go to the grocery store so I picked her up around 11:30. I had planned to take her to lunch but she had already eaten but wanted to buy me lunch anyway. I had a Whopper Jr. at Burger King and we chatted while I ate. She asked for ideas for Joey's upcoming birthday and I suggested that we run over to Toys R Us to get her a gift certificate. She liked that idea so away we went. Then I took her to Safeway.

Grandma is 88 years old and is somewhat hunched over due to severe osteoporosis so she moves rather slowly. I love her dearly but shopping with her is a serious exercise in patience and diplomacy. She studies every new thing she sees and spends a lot of time deciding which package of hamburger buns to buy. To expedite things, I usually take her list from her and direct her to the specific aisles she needs and the specific sections. If left to her own, she would basically look for items as they appear on her list which results in a lot of extra walking--not in her best interest.

As far as shopping goes, this trip wasn't terribly painful. I was able to keep her focused and it only took just over an hour. It was nice to spend so much time with her. I've been kind of neglectful of her, I feel. I take her to church every Sunday and invite her over for dinner afterward, though she doesn't always accept the invitation when she's too tired. But I do love her. She is a sweet, loving woman and she adores her grandchildren and great grandchild Joey.

I still haven't heard from my sister in New Mexico. I wonder when she'll be able to get home?

Tomorrow, Joey and I have a mother-daughter beauty afternoon scheduled. We're both getting our hair cut after she gets out of school. I'm so looking forward to it, for both of us. She looks so cute with a chin-length bob and right now it is well past shoulder-length, which often looks like a mop. And it's hard to get the snarls out so she never wants to brush her hair when I ask her to. This hair cut will be a *very* good thing.

Now is the time in Lobotomy Land when I make microwave popcorn and have a snack since I've only consumed about 800 calories today.

Later...

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...