Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
08-30-2001 @ 11:28 p.m.
Nearly the End of Summer Vacation

Back home.

I love the ocean. I love the beach. But not a beautiful sunny and hot beach. I hate that beach. I like a foggy, windy, waves-crashing-on-the-shore beach. I love a nasty, stormy, grey beach. Damn good thing I live in Oregon because that is what we have. In abundance. Even in freaking August. Not that I'm complaining. I just have to remember to bring warm clothes for the beach any time of year when I go to the Oregon coast.

It was lovely to spend a few days with friends and children, though I must confess, I was a little tense at all the clomp-clomp-clomping those children did upstairs. I have one petite, sweet, non-clomping child in a one-story home. I'm not accustomed to hearing noises that sound like the roof is about to collapse on me. I had to go upstairs several times to voice my displeasure. The fact that I had to do it several times should be an indication of how effective I was.

Food was eaten. Many too many s'mores were eaten by me. I love stove-roasted s'mores. I have been proclaimed, hands down, the best s'more maker in the known universe. I have learned from extensive research how to make the *perfect* s'more. It's both a gift and a curse, you know. As long as I have no marshmallows in my house, I'm safe. They must be Kraft Jet-puffed marshmallows, however. Any other inferior grade marshmallow will result in a substandard s'more which is not worthy of being eaten except by children who do not know better.

Games were played. My sister caught on quickly to Combat UNO. She was vicious, BTW. It was not fun to sit next to her. After we'd been playing awhile, we let the two oldest boys play. One knew the game, the other (my sister's stepson) did not. We thought it would be funny to let him play without telling him the rules. It was funny. Sort of. In a sad, pathetic sort of way. He thought it was hilarious, however.

Money was spent. There is an outlet mall in Lincoln City so we had our requisite shopping adventure on the coldest day. I bought Joey a very cute pair of khaki bootleg pants with sequined and embroidered flowers on the flares and on the hips and back pockets and a long sleeved leopard-print jersey shirt. Very cute. I bought myself a pair of shoes. They are that new style of slip-on shoe that I can't begin to describe but they are brown almost distressed leather. I love them.

Videos were watched. We rented Holy Grail and O Brother, Where Art Thou. I think it was funnier the third time--I laughed my head off. Again. Every time I see that movie, I catch something new that I missed before. I'm just so impressed with that movie--it's a great movie. I think I'm going to have to get it for myself one of these days.

Words were spoken. One thing that can be counted upon is that when I get together with my friends, we will talk and talk and talk and talk. I get sorta lonely when I get home because there isn't a girlfriend to talk to. I mean, I can talk with my husband but we don't chat the same way I do with my sister or my friends. I can sort of see the appeal of polygamy after I've spent a few days with my friends like we just did. It was so nice--someone to cook, someone to do the dishes, someone to yell at the kids, someone to help out with just about anything that needed doing, someone to talk to or play with any time. I'm not sure how I'd feel about the sex issue but I could sure groove on the rest of the living arrangements.

Joey met her new teacher today. She has red hair and freckles. I think we will get along very well. I'm delighted with her so far. Joey took to her right away, in her shy, slow-to-warm-up style. I think she'll get along with her well. The teacher asked me what the best way to draw her out was--that's a good sign. There are 5 children in Joey's class who are new to the school, which Joey was very glad to hear. She was afraid that she would be the only new student in her class.

Her therapy appointment went well today, too. She was very chatty and we were able to get a lot done. We're working on her fear of being in a room alone, moderating her responses to pain and frustration so that big things get bigger responses than little things (which is working well) and her new-school fears right now. I'm so glad that we got her into therapy. It has been wonderful for our family and our parenting skills. I've always said that it's as much for Ed and me as it is for Joey.

Joey went to soccer practice tonight. She's making big improvement. You'd never believe it was the same girl who burst into tears after the first night. The coach's son wasn't there, which I was glad about. Joey didn't cotton much to him and he wasn't helpful from my standpoint. He was always showing off and messing around with the ball which I found tremendously annoying.

Tomorrow we are going to the zoo with our new neighbors. We haven't been there in a long time and I haven't done much with Joey around town since we spent the summer either traveling or at home doing project or preparing for/recovering from a trip. I can't believe summer vacation is almost over. Am I the only one who mourns the end of summer and the start of school? I love summer vacation. I don't want to give it up just yet. Most of my friends who are parents can't wait for school to start but I always go reluctantly into school season. It's bittersweet, I guess. I mean, I enjoy having time to myself again and being able to do projects and write and stuff like that, but I also miss the slow pace of our summer days. I miss being able to wake up in the morning and wonder "what shall we do today?" and then doing it. Oh I'll settle in to the routine eventually but my heart belongs to summer vacation.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...