Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
08-23-2001 @ 10:47 p.m.
Where I Bitch A Lot

Clare showed me how to add my site to search engines and how to find out where people were coming into LobotomyLand from. Today I was perusing Site Meter and noticed that I'd gotten some Google hits so I thought I'd share them with you:

star jasmine planting

silly love song free lyrics

jenna bush diaries

natural spermicide

ravioli machine wanted

chicks land

what age is too old to get MBA

gretchen bonaduce

twin over full bunk beds

lobotomy

It disturbs me how many people are searching for lobotomy information--history, procedure, etc. Are there that many of us crazy types out there? It's scary! Watch your children--we're out there in force!

Now is the time in LobotomyLand where I do something I almost never do. I'm going to bitch a little bit about my best friend who I love dearly.

Last week, she said "Hey, let's go to the new Children's Museum after we get back from Bend, ok?" Great, say I. I've been wanting to do that. I got back from Bend on Monday afternoon. We didn't talk on Monday or Tuesday. Wednesday I thought I'd call her. I asked what she had been doing lately and she said, "Oh, nothing much. We just did laundry and housework on Monday and then went to the Children's Museum yesterday." What? You went without me, I say, rather loudly. You said hey let's go to the museum next week and I said Ok. And then you went without me! I remind her. She stammers. "Well, you wouldn't have wanted to go--it was packed and the kids were everywhere and you couldn't move..... etc. etc. etc" I'm feeling a little irritated. I think it's ok to be a little irritated because she invited me to go somewhere and then went alone (or worse, with an unnamed other friend). That seems kind of rude to me. "Let's take the girls again later when it's not so crowded." Yeah, right, I'm thinking. When will it be less crowded? Should we maybe take them out of school for the outing or what? Besides, I just lost interest in going.

Next bitch: her daughter is driving me crazy. When we are both going the same place at the same time, the girls always go together in the same car, either hers or mine. They always do this--it's tradition. They've been inseparable best friends since before they were a year old. But for some reason over the past month or two, when Joey says "B, wanna go in our car?" B says "No, I don't want to go with you. I want to go with my *mom*" Huh? A month or so ago, we were all together doing something and I said to B, "would you like to come spend the night this weekend?" (I had already gotten the ok from her mom.) She lifted her eyebrows and gave a sort of shrug. "I don't know. I think I want to stay with my mom." I should probably mention that B has spent the night at our house dozens of times in her almost 8 years of life.

Today, we met them for a movie (Cats & Dogs) and the girls sat down together then I sat next to B and Stacey sat next to me. No sooner had my ass hit the seat when B turns to me and says "Can I sit by my mom?" I told her she could sit on the other side of S so she gets up, leaves Joey hanging out all by herself and goes to sit by her mom. Joey's feelings were understandably hurt but I made a big deal about being able to sit by her and share our M&Ms and soda (which I meanly knew B wanted but didn't offer to share) so she was satisfied. What the hell was the point of going to the movie together? Afterward, I was just ready to leave them because I was irritated at both of them and as we walked out, B said "Hey Joey, wanna come watch me go to my swimming lessons?" I said "Oh yeah, that sounds like fun, B. You wanna come watch Joey swim sometime? Does that sound like a good time to you?" (OK, so I was feeling kinda bitchy--I have PMS. Sue me.)

I don't know what has gotten into her but it's hurting Joey's feelings and pissing me off. We have decided that B isn't welcome in our car or our home for the time being so we will not be inviting her anywhere. What I don't understand is why she's doing it. It's not like she's a shy child who clings to her mother's apron or anything. It's more like a power ploy--a way to keep the upper hand in the relationship or something. Oh, you want me over there? Too bad,I'm going to sit here with my mom. It's like artificially inflating prices or something.

So I'm irritated at B for hurting Joey's feelings. If she's so freaking interested in being with her *mom* then she can just stay with her mom. There will be no invitations forthcoming from us. I'm irritated at S some, too, because she doesn't seem to see how B's words hurt Joey. If Joey said to a little friend, "No, I don't want to go with you. I want to go with my mom" I'd talk to her right then about hurting people's feelings. I wouldn't let Joey say things like that. I'd teach her to say "How about we go in my car instead?" as a suggestion if she really needed to be in the car with me.

Next bitch: we're supposed to go to a beach house next week for 3 nights. Originally it was T, W, TH nights returning Friday. Then I realized that we had to be back on Thursday for a school thing so changed it to M, T, W nights returning Thursday. S invited a friend (at my suggestion) and gave her the original dates. When we changed it to starting Monday, I asked her to pass the information to her friend and make sure she could make it Monday. I need to know how many are going so I can plan for money and see if I need to find someone else to go. I've asked her for more than a week to mention the dates to this other friend and as of this afternoon, she hadn't done it. It's not a life or death matter but it's irritating to me that she hasn't take care of it. Especially since I'm the one financially responsible for the house because I signed the rental agreement.

I guess that's it. These all sound very petty and I'm not the type to dwell on petty little nits like this but they've been bothering me lately and today was the final straw. I almost want to cancel the beach retreat and just go do something else by myself with my sister and her stepson but there are other on board for the beach house. And to top it all off, my ankle still hurts and I just tweaked it while I was sitting here and it send a jolt of pain up my leg. And I have PMS. Did I mention that I have PMS and my boobs hurt? I don't think I that impressed upon you.

But on a happy note, I had some really great corn on the cob for dinner and a huge, delicious helping of steamed spinach with vinegar and tabasco sauce on it. Mmmm. Tasty.

And on another happy note, our neighbor girl Ashlee got on Joey's soccer team. Yay--a friend for Joey at soccer and a carpool mom for me! How excellent is this???

So I guess the deal with me is don't piss me off in the next few days unless you are carrying large quantities of chocolate or really good corn on the cob.

I now return you to your regularly scheduled diary reading. Go on. Git. Leave me to my peace. Hopefully the soft and cuddly Lobotomybabe you've all come to know will return soon. Until then, enter at your own risk.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...