Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
07-13-2001 @ 10:58 p.m.
Old Friends

It was a lovely day in Vienna today. The temperature was a comfortable 78 degrees with only about 40% humidity and a light wind to keep us cool when we were walking around in the sun. And walk we did!

After the kids had their dentist appointment (from Dr. Grandpa), we put together a picnic lunch and headed over to Kidwell Farm at Frying Pan Park. After enjoying our lovely lunch, we engaged in a game of Stay Away from Me wherein I proceeded to chase the kids and tickle them if I caught one of them, whereupon I would be beset by the other children who tickled me trying to save the child I caught. It was a great way to work off our lunches!

We wandered around the farm seeing the various animals--goats, cows, draft horses, ducks, pigs, sheep, turkeys, peacocks, chickens and rabbits. We took a little break at the country store and had frozen lemonade--quite a wonderful summer refresher. Then we went on a hay ride where the driver stopped at various points around the farm and described what we were seeing. It was very relaxing.

After walking all around the farm/park, we went home so the two littlest kids could nap and DeeAnn and I tried to figure out what to do for dinner.

Ed called and said he'd found lots of ancestor stuff in Pennsylvania and would be staying another day so he could do a bit more research. I'm excited for him because he's been doing a lot of research on his father's line and has run into a few snags but being at the source has helped him tremendously, like learning that his great grandfather's Russian name was shortened into a name that sounds very Italian.

We had Mexican dip and quesadillas and enchiladas for dinner--very tasty--and then went to Spy Park for an evening constitutional. This is the park where that spy, Hanssen, made his drops. I even walked on the bridge where the stuff was dropped off for his "clients." It is a lovely wooded park with several paved walkways. The kids all scootered along and we grown ups just walked. And I got to see more fireflies. I officially *love* fireflies.

When we got back, DeeAnn made strawberry shortcake on angel food cake which was just delicious. The kids showered/bathed and went to bed kind of late. I hope they'll sleep in just a tiny bit tomorrow but I'm not counting on it.

I'm so enjoying this vacation so far. I wish my husband were here to enjoy it with me but I know he's enjoying his research and I certainly don't begrudge him that. Besides, he wouldn't have been able to hang out with his best friend Val (DeeAnn's husband) today anyway because Val was at work so it all works out ok.

Did I mention why we're visiting these people? Val is Ed's best friend from way way back. They met on the first day of school in 10th grade (1977). Val was new in school and the homeroom teacher said that she needed a spot for this new boy and Ed said "You can sit here by me." It turned out that Ed and Val had all their classes together and became fast friends. They also had younger sisters who were the same age who became friends. The four of them did everything together throughout high school.

When Ed and Val went away to college, they were roommates all their college years until we got married. Ed and I were dating at the same time Val and DeeAnn were dating and there were many times it seemed like the four of us were roommates because we spent a lot of time together. Ed and I got married in April of '87 and then drove out to be in Val and DeeAnn's wedding here in Virginia in August of '87. When school started again that September, we were across the street neighbors for 2 years until Val and DeeAnn graduated and moved out here to Virginia.

We've kept in touch by regular visits and email and love that crosses our great continent. They're our oldest and dearest friends (and it turns out I'm even related to Val, 5 generations back!) and they will always be a part of our lives, even if we live 3000 miles apart. It gives us a great place to vacation! Whenever we travel east, we always try to visit them along with Ed's family. They're 8 hours apart, but we make it work. It's high time for them to come to Oregon again, though!

So tomorrow we have more fun stuff planned--a special market and demonstration fair at a colonial farm near here and then a grown-up dinner at an afghani restaurant. Should be another wonderful day!

Later,

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...