Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
06-28-2001 @ midnight
Dance Recital Fun

Tonight was Joey's hip-hop recital. It's a big deal--she takes dance at a huge dance studio in a nearby 'burb and they have so many classes that there are 5 days of recitals. The recitals are held downtown at the Civic Auditorium--quite a big venue. Each recital has about 35 or 40 dance numbers (about 7 of which are done by their performing company). I was a chaperone tonight so I was responsible (along with another mom) for the 13 children in Joey's dance class. I had to sign them all in, take them to their seats, get them back stage on time, get them back to their seats, get them back stage again at the end of the show for the Grand Finale parade (where the dancers parade across the stage and wave at everyone), then get them back to the upper lobby and sign them out to their parents. We also had to take them to numerous bathroom trips and water breaks during the 3-hour gig. I would never want to do that job without a co-chaperone, though, that's for sure. Joey was very cute and the girls were very white. Nothing's more amusing than watching a bunch of suburban white girls doing hip hop. ::grin::

I was saddened by news of Jack Lemmon's death. I really liked him. He was an actor's actor and he'll be missed.

Tomorrow we'll be going to southern Oregon to meet up with some of my online friends (a few of whom have diaries here at Diaryland). I'm really looking forward to it--to seeing my friends, meeting their children and spouses, and taking in what is sure to be a great Shakespearean production (Merchant of Venice). I'm in charge of bringing the babysitter for all the kids so we can go to the play. I'm not sure what else we'll be doing but I don't care! I'll be with my beloved, my daughter and my friends. Who could ask for more?

Tomorrow is another important day--it's Ed's last day of work before his sabbatical. Can I tell you how excited I am about that? Eight weeks off! Eight weeks of having a husband who isn't stressed out. Eight weeks of having a husband who is home, doing projects and relaxing. Eight beautiful, delicious, wonderful, fabulous weeks. Eight. Count 'em. E-I-G-H-T. ::sigh::

Trinity63 quoted my Bobbit Laboratories line today. She submitted it to Quoted (where she was quoted today--yay for her!). Inarticulate quoted me, too, a while back.

It's always so strange to read your own words some place where you didn't write them. Maybe that's how it will feel when I finally get published and can go into a bookstore and see my books on the shelf. Right now I can go see my name in the acknowledgements of 2 books right now. It's kind of fun to show people--I showed Joey and she thought it was really kewl to see my name in a book even if it was just in the acknowledgements.

Now is the time in Lobotomy Land when we go to sleep. Wishing you a warm embrace in the arms of Morpheus tonight.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...