Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
06-25-2001 @ 9:39 p.m.
Adventures in Barbecue

Thanks for the good wishes in my guestbook. I feel much more like myself again. My sinuses aren't congested and my eyes weren't itchy as all get out today so it was a welcome relief.

And now for the part where I tell you what a Culinary Goddess I am. I ditched all my plans to go to Goodwill, run errands, go to the park, etc. Instead, I decided that I would spend the afternoon barbecuing baby back ribs. We have a propane grill but I was determined to figure out a way to make it work so I'd have indirect heat, low temperature, smoke and 3 hours of heat. So.... I bought some chunky, natural mesquite charcoal and some hickory chips when I got the baby back ribs. Then I came home, mixed up a rub for the ribs and then set out to get the coals ready.

I took the rack out of the barbecue and sprinkled the bottom with charcoal then I started up the grill. The flames got the charcoals burning and when they were good and flaming, I turned off the propane flame and let the coals do their thing. When the temperature was right (I used my oven thermometer to guage the heat), I put the ribs on the top rack of the 3-tiered rack set up. Then I put 2 disposable foil baking pans on the bottom rack and filled them with water and beer. I dropped some soaked hickory chips on the bottom rack around the water and then closed the lid to capture the smoke and steam. I monitored the temperature and opened the top to let off some heat when it got over 300 degrees and let the ribs cook and smoke for about 75 minutes. Then I wrapped them in heavy duty foil and let them steam in their own juices for 2 more hours.

While the ribs were cooking, I also roasted 2 bell peppers for tomorrow's dinner. I love roasted peppers and the barbecue is the best place to roast them.

While the ribs were steaming, I dug out my mother's barbecue sauce recipe and whipped it up. It's so good--a nice vinegar-based sauce. I love it! I made it as a tribute to her today. I'm sure she was smiling on me as I experimented with barbecue today.

I called Stacey and invited her over for dinner. She brought beans and we cooked some bacon and put some of my great sauce in them and they turned out great! I also made some cheesy corn bread with whole corn kernals inside.

To round it all out, we had cubed cantaloupe and sweet sweet local strawberries. They were so delicious--we ate the entire cantaloupe gone.

The ribs were falling-off-the-bone tender and moist and delicious. The sauce was hot and sweet and piquant--so so good. It was an all-out feast. I wish I'd made 2 racks of ribs because these were incredibly good. I can't wait to do it again.

I'm so seriously impressed with myself tonight I can hardly stand to be in the same room with myself. Ed, being a southern boy, was absolutely delighted by my dinner surprise. It was just so great--I haven't had ribs that good in so long--in fact, I can't remember if I've ever had ribs that tender and that moist and that tasty. I smell like a barbecue joint now, though. I need a shower!

That pretty much sums my entire day. What a fun, tasty day.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...