Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
06-24-2001 @ 11:47 p.m.
Slow, Rainy Northwest Summer Sunday

Just like Mary, I had a slow, rainy Pacific Northwest day. I woke up several times during the night feeling hot and smothered and finally at 4am, I got up, got some warm pajamas on, grabbed a blanket and went to sleep on the couch where I could prop myself up well enough to breathe. I was very congested and sleeping on a flattish pillow near Ed the Furnace Man was just not working for me.

Joey woke up at around 8am, which was very late for her (she's usually up between 6:45 and 7:30), and wanted to watch TV. Fine, says I. Just keep the volume down. Then at 8:30 she says, "I'm going with Auntie Cherri, ok?" They were going to pick up Grandma and go out to breakfast. I wasn't feeling up to tagging along so I bid them bon appetit and went back to sleep.

They were back almost immediately. Or so it seemed to me, though the clock read 10am. Joey was expected at a play date with a neighborhood girl (who is a little on the bratty/sassy side so I like to minimize the visits to her house where she can hear this girl interacting with her mom--she's fine over at our house, though).

I chatted with my sister and Grandma for about 40 minutes until they took off for their respective homes and then I proceeded to warm the couch cushions all day. My sinuses were feeling full so I had waves of headaches all day and didn't feel like doing much of anything. I made a box cheese cake (blech) and more spanikopita for Joey and some pasta for Ed and me for lunch and that was about the extent of my activity for the day.

It rained. I didn't mind it one bit since I was just in relaxing mode. Ok, so I was in total slug mode. What's it to ya? The weather forecast is for partly cloudy, low 70s tomorrow, Tuesday and Thursday, rain on Wednesday. Not what I had in mind for the week, but that does increase the chance of good weather for the 4th of July. I always get worried if things are really great for the week before the 4th because around here, you don't get too many good days in a row so the laws of averages are against you.

I'm not sure what I'm going to do with myself tomorrow. I have to mail a baby present to BIL and SIL. Ok, so the baby is almost a month old. I'm a little slow. To quote cubiclegirl, sue me. But other than boxing that up and mailing it, I'm pretty much done for. I guess I could wash more clothes--there is a load of darks in our basket. But yuck--that's no fun. I'm watching Baylee tomorrow while Stacey goes to school. Maybe I'll pick her up early and take the girls to lunch and then to the park for some reading or writing time. I love to write in the park. I'm working on a scene that I need to spend some time thinking about. I'm not sure how to bridge this scene I just finished and get to the next scene so it needs some consideration. I might do what I did with the last scene--write it a few different ways and see which one I like best. Perhaps I should make that Goodwill run with the giant garbage bag I have full of sweaters and winter clothes. Hmmmm...there's an idea brewing. I have some Christmas decorations boxed up and ready to take there, too. Yes, that is a very good idea.

Ooh, I just remembered that I was going to make cucumber-onion salad today and I didn't do it. I think I might just make some right now. Yes, that is a Very Good Idea.

I'm off to make my salad and then I'll take my new book East Side of the Mountains (Guterson) to bed with me for some late night reading. Ciao!

--L (Note: Diaryland hiccupped when I was trying to upload my entry and I lost my entry temporarily but fortunately I had Ctrl-Ced it to memory so I didn't lose my entry after all. Whew!)

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...