Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
06-20-2001 @ 11:01 p.m.
No Issues Here

You know, if I thought that my life was boring when I was going to school, it was wildly exciting compared to the last few days of summer vacation. It's not that we did nothing, it's just that it would be excrutiatingly boring to write about and even worse to read about. Who wants to hear that I did the dishes and the laundry and then took a nap? I can't even think of a good issue to get worked up over. Amazing as it may seem to those who know me in 3D, I'm at a loss for words.

Maybe I should just send you over to some of my favorite diarists. Bev hit on a good one with this essay. There are plenty of things in this world with which I disagree and there are practices I don't support or encourage due to my religious beliefs but I would never even consider banning them or limiting access to them because of my own personal beliefs. I can't stand that I'm-going-to-save-you-from-yourself mentality. If you, as a catholic doctor, object to performing abortions or tubal ligations or vasectomies, fine. Don't do them. It should be an individual choice--both for the patient and for the doctor. But to limit access to these legal and many times necessary procedures for catholics and non-catholics alike not only disgusts me, but irritates the hell out of me. Especially the part about banning the procedures in non-catholic hospitals that are owned by catholic health organizations.

The odd thing is that although these same celibate old men don't want to do anything that would prohibit women from conceiving, they don't want to do much to help those who are infertile to have children. A lot of the assisted reproduction technologies are frowned upon by the catholic church if not outright banned. Where's the logic in that? We want you to have lots of babies but only if you can get 'em all by yourself? I have lots of expletives to say to that, but I'll resist the urge to go on a swearing binge.

That pretty much exhausts my rage for the day. I used to be this wildly passionate person who always had some kind of issue or other to rant or rave about. My older sister is still that way but somehow I seem to have lost it. I wonder where it went? I still find things to get worked up about but in general, in my very small little world, the issue has to touch me directly for me to get very worked up about it. Like the bad service we got at Village Inn the other day. I got pretty worked up about that. I think I just don't have the energy to emote about things like I used to. Maybe I've caught the apathy bug. Maybe I'm just too tired. Too selfish. Too suburban. Who knows? Who cares?

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...