Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
06-16-2001 @ post-midnight
Just Stuff

Can't imagine how yesterday got so far away from me that I didn't update. I went to bed earlyish because we had early morning plans today--that must be it.

And early morning plans they were--somehow I got the fool notion in my head that it would be fun to go to the Hot Air Balloon Festival that started at 6am so we got up at 5:30 am on a Saturday morning and dragged two kids out of a blissfully quiet sleep to go outside and watch balloons inflate and go up in the sky.

Actually, it was pretty fun. Those balloons are really neat and really huge. The girls loved them. Especially the one that looked like a Burger King Whopper. The Energizer Bunny was a big hit, too. When all the balloons were in the air, we went to the fund-raiser pancake breakfast which was pretty tasty (amazingly) and then let the girls go on some carnival rides and play some games. It was so strange to be doing carnival stuff at 7am. It was crazy! We walked through some kewl trailers and campers which was pretty entertaining, too. We were back home by 9:30 or 10:00 and I was asleep by 10:10, I believe. Or maybe it was 10:05. I'd had a terrible night's sleep and was really wiped out. That nap lasted until noon and felt fabulous.

Joey wanted to get her father a tie for Father's Day. She came up with the idea on her own so it isn't as trite as it could be. She wanted to get it at Fred Meyer so we went there and they didn't have any neckties. She said, "But mom, how can that be? On the commercial, it says 'what's on your list today, we've got it at Fred Meyer.' Don't they have everything?" It really disturbed her to realize that advertising isn't always as it appears. Quel disillusionment.

We had pizza and played games with the Olmsteads and the Griffins tonight. It was so nice. We have the best, funnest friends. I love them!

On Friday, I learned how to make jam. I made strawberry jam with some young girls from church and it turned out great. I vastly overestimated the amount of strawberries we would need so we had lots and lots of berries. We did 2 batches with the regular sugar amount and 1 batch low-sugar. They're both good, but the low-sugar batch is much fresher tasting--more strawberryey. I've been eating toast for 2 days just to taste the jam.

This is a pretty lame entry--I'm too tired to come up with something great. I'll see what I can come up with tomorrow, being Father's Day and all.

I have a headache and I noticed today that my chest feels kinda tight. When I cough, I get this really nasty metallic taste/smell in my mouth. I think I may be developing a bronchial infection or something. I've been kinda wheezy all day and I don't usually feel wheezy unless I'm having an asthma attack, which I'm not. I'm not crazy about the idea of developing an infection. I was thinking that I was almost over this cold and was feeling pretty amazed that it only lasted a week. Perhaps I was overly optimistic.

I need to do something about this headache so I'll finish this and write more tomorrow. Ciao.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...