Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
06-12-2001 @ 11:15 p.m.
Martha Rant

Still sick but feeling *marginally* better. I can breathe and I didn't cough as many times today (which means I didn't wet my pants as much today--clearly it is time to start doing kegels!!).

I finished my take-home Nutrition exam today with a classmate so I'm home free. All I have left is a party tomorrow where we discuss the exam and argue any questions we thought were unfair or ambiguous or whatever. I'm bringing a great Mediterrearean platter--I made 5 bulbs of roasted garlic (roasted with great olive oil and fresh rosemary from my garden) and I'll put that on the platter with fresh chevre, some sliced Dubliner cheese (kind of like very sharp cheddar but not), and some creamy cambazola cheese, a bowl of Greek olives and some crunchy red grapes. I'll buy some fresh crusty bread at a French bakery tomorrow before class and cut it up when I get there.

Tonight was Joey's choir concert. She was so excited about it. She did a good job--kind of quiet on her singing solo but clear and understandable on her speaking solo. It was so cute. She really loves to perform. But that child is terribly uncoordinated. Or, rather, she's stiff. When she moves, it looks like she's just so awkward. But it's cute. Maybe someday she'll grow into her body and gain a good sense of propriocepion. Until then, she'll continue to move like a long-legged newborn colt.

I'm watching From Martha's Kitchen and she just said the line that I think is the most pretentious and out-of-touch. She's putting ingredients into a pan and she says "I'm using honey from my own hives, but any honey will do." Ack! Why even say anything like that--just to impress us that she can pay someone to be a freaking beekeeper for her to go along with the rest of her domestic staff? Are we really supposed to believe that she puts on a white suit and takes a smoker out to the beehives and gets out the honeycomb and drains the honey out of it? She kills me. I really have a love-hate thing going on with her. She uses a lot of speech affectations like overly pronouncing all her Ts and sometimes throwing in an H where it doesn't belong, like when she says 'to-matt-ho' or 'prett-hee,'which she likes to say a lot. And she pronounces the H in herbs like the Brits, too. Come on, Martha, you're from Jersey fercryin'outloud. Have you ever noticed that she can't just list the ingredients in a recipe? She has to add adjectives and editorial comments on each one, some of which I find tremendously insulting, always exhorting her viewers to use the *best* ingredients, the *finest* this and the *freshest* that and the *homemade* other thing. Like I'm going to go to the store and buy wilted lettuce and bruised tomatoes and stale bread to make dinner for my guests or family. Arrrgh! Of *course* I want the best, finest, freshest stuff. Who doesn't?? I think I've ranted about Martha in an entry before and I probably wrote almost exactly the same thing. Sorry if this seems like deja vu.

Now I want a snack. We have no cereal, though, so I'm out of my usual bedtime snack.

I went to Trader Joe's today for olive oil and $107 later, I was walking out the door. That store is dangerous. That is why I limit my visits there. I always go there before a party because they have lots of party food there--the frozen mushroom turnovers are divine and I have them at almost all my parties--and I always go there at Christmas to buy the delicious goodies and chocolates they bring in for the holidays. They have great olive oil there--I got some unfiltered new harvest extra virgin olive oil from Italy, then a liter of filtered Italian extra virgin olive oil and a liter of filtered Greek extra virgin olive oil. I'm kinda picky about my olive oil. But it's my primary lipid so I want good stuff.

I'm just so excited that at noon tomorrow, school is out for me! I'll sell back my books and be home freeeeeeeee! Kinda makes me want to be done with school forever, but I always feel this way in June. By the time September rolls around, I'm ready for classes again.

It just occurred to me that I have some Father's Day stuff to take care of--cards for my dad, FIL and husband and some gifts for the hubster. Hmmmmm...that sets my mind to wondering. I may need to ask for suggestions from him though that usually results in an answer like "you don't need to get me anything." One of these years I'm going to take him up on that.

Time to go to bed.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...