Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
06-06-2001 @ 9p.m.
Peace

I'm writing earlier than usual today so if you are reading this entry on Wednesday, you may have missed Tuesday's entry.

Well, I've all but decided that I don't want to go to nursing school and midwifery school. The good stuff (catching babies) just isn't going to be enough to pay for all the other stuff that is unavoidable in working in health care.

Ever since I've been trying on the notion of going to graduate school in English rather than becoming a CNM, I've felt such a sense of peace. I haven't felt this peaceful for a long time. I've been in such turmoil for months. Months and months. I've slain my math and chemistry demons and now I choose to go with my first love--teaching and writing. Both of those things have been part of the game plan since day one. I always knew I'd have to work them in somehow. So now instead of just working them in, I'll let them be the stars.

Finals never looked better than from this vantage point. I'm not going to slack off, of course, but I'm not going to kill myself and make myself sick over these tests. I'll do my best and feel good about it.

I was kind of wondering how my friends would react when I gave them the news of what I was thinking about and instead of thinking I was fickle or flaky, they've been tremendously supportive and encouraging. They see it the way I do. I don't know why I was worried--it's not like their opinion matters one whit but it is ever so nice to have supportive and encouraging friends rather than disdainful friends.

I'm so looking forward to taking only a photography class next term. I've been trying to squeeze this class in for 2 years! It will be such a welcome relief to have a purely fun class.

We have a dead bird in our back yard. It looks like it is just trying to peck a worm or grub out of the grass but it hasn't moved in 2 day. I believe it is time to put him to rest, especially before he starts to smell and get icky. This is clearly a husband's job, don't you think?

Joey had therapy today. We talked about her ability to deal with punishments (she doesn't handle it well at all) and her propensity to hurt herself when she's very upset. She'll bang herself into the wall--hand or foot or head--in an effort to gain sympathy. I was concerned that these self-inflicted injuries could escalate and become something worse as she gets older. The therapist was also concerned about it so we talked about it and came up with some strategies for her. Have I mentioned before how much I really like Joey's therapist? She's just wonderful.

We ate dinner together after therapy at Baja Fresh. Man, I just love that place. The sauces are so good and so garlicky. I'm having major garlic burps now. But it's a small price to pay for delicious soft corn shrimp tacos. Mmmmmmm good!

I'm going to do some writing now so I'll see ya'll tomorrow!

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...