Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
06-05-2001 @ midnightish
New Friends, Bookgroups and Writing

Trinity called me today. It was great! We chatted for a long time and it was like we've always known each other. It staggers the mind to realize how many many things we have in common. We're planning to meet in 3D sometime soon and I know I'll recognize her as soon as I see her. She'll be the one who looks just like me. :-) Ok, so maybe she won't look *just* like me, but I'll know her when I see her. We're both foodies so I'm sure that we'll meet first at a good restaurant.

I hosted bookgroup tonight. I was still finishing the book when the guests arrived so I sequestered myself in the den until I finished the book. I felt it was more important to finish the book than to be a good hostess. Besides, they're all such chatterbugs that they never missed me.

The discussion was excellent. There were varying opinions on the book--some loved it, some just liked it, some were irritated by it and one hated it. *That* is what makes for a great discussion. It was lively and interesting and there was lots of participation. Karina and Barbara and Betsy didn't make it--I'll have to talk to them. If they're ditching the group, that will make room for Trinity, so I have to check them out and see what's up. Next up is I KNOW THIS MUCH IS TRUE by one of my favorite authors, Wally Lamb. He rocks.

My lab final today was pretty good. It only took 25 minutes. I think I did well enough to get an A, or at least an 88, so that's good. I really don't care at this point. I'm on the cusp for an A in that class right now and I don't care. How's that for change? I almost died when I got my first B (Statistics--grrrr) but now I'm unconcerned. Feels good--the pressure is off. Yay.

I'm going to try on being a non-working, non-school-going parent next year and see how that feels. Well, I'm going to apply to graduate school in English at PSU, just in case and I am taking the photography class I was interested in. I may even take a creative writing class if I feel masochistic. :-)

I was talking with someone after bookgroup tonight and I think I made a good realization. I had alwasy believed that I majored in English because I couldn't do anything else. I wasn't smart enough to do the math and chemistry required for a medical career. But now that I've dispelled that notion and realized that I *can* do it, and do it well, I don't feel like majoring in English was a second-best choice. If I go to graduate school in English, it will be by choice this time, not because I couldn't hack it or was too afraid to take the scary classes. English is no longer a consolation prize--it can be the grand prize. I feel so much better now. I feel like a huge weight has been lifted from my shoulders. And Ed doesn't consider my last 2 years of school a waste of time or money either. He's like me--this has been a fabulous and necessary experience for me and now I can move on. I just want to write. I've always wanted to write. I think I needed to clear some cobwebs from my brain to get to the point where I could write. And I've been writing a lot! My bookgroup friend said she was very interested in the premise of my novel and wanted me to finish it so she could read it. That is so encouraging! I love to hear that (thanks, Mary and Bill).

Now I can go to sleep with a smile on my face.

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...