Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
05-20-2001 @ 10:06 p.m.
Back from the Chick-O-Rama

I had a lovely Chicks-Only Weekend at the beach. We all like each other so much and just talked and talked and talked whenever we weren't watching a video or eating or playing games. It was so nice to always have someone to talk to about anything that came to mind. I really like that. I love to chat. A good conversation can sustain me as well as food. That's half the reason I like to double date with friends or vacation with friends--there's more opportunity for conversation.

Mary drove down from Seattle to join us (me, Stacey, Jaimie, Dayna, Krista and Alison) at the beach house which we renamed Hill House because the floors were so wonky that there was about a 6-inch difference between the kitchen and the western wall. Everything was askew--even the toilet. When you sat on it, you felt slightly pitched forward. I woke up last night because someone was walking upstairs and making a lot of noise. When I woke up, I realized I needed to pee so I walked to the bathroom but because of the angled floor, I felt like I was walking on a moving train and I almost slammed into the doorjamb of the bathroom. It was so funny. Well, as funny as something like that can be at 4am when you're all alone.

We walked on the beach and watched the sun set. We watched Gwyneth Paltrow videos. We shopped at the Outlet Mall (I bought a bunch of kitchen stuff--imagine that!). We ate great chowder at Mo's and great Mexican food at Roco's. We flirted with the owner of the Mexican restaurant, too. (He was cute with his bad ass goatee and dark eyes.) We hunted for (and found) a candy store with the world's best caramel popcorn. We talked, talked, talked, talked and talked. We played Davis-Rules Uno. This is no children's game--it was aggressive and rude and cut-throat and dang fun! We burped and farted and swore. Ladies we were not. It was just so much fun, I didn't want to come home. But when I got home, I was delighted to see my husband and darling daughter and they me. Stacey and her family stayed for dinner so I whipped up some pasta and veggies. It was very delicious. Gosh I love my beach retreats. I have the greatest taste in people. Everyone likes everyone else and we all have so much fun together.

Damn! I just spilled my prunes. They're sticky, too, so they can't just be picked up and blown off. They must be thrown away. I hate to do that!

I have a kink in my neck. It hurts a lot but not as much as it hurt yesterday. Jaimie gave me the hardest back/neck rub I've ever had. Good heavens! But you know what? It is much looser now, though I think I must be bruised there from her fingers!

Joey accomplished her goal to put herself to sleep 5 nights to get her video. She did it 5 nights in a row and tomorrow we'll be going to get her the reward. But you know what? Even though tonight she had fulfilled her goal, she put herself to sleep anyway. This is just amazing. With no inducement or reward. She just went to sleep. This may not be exciting to many of you, but this is near nirvana for me. I can hardly believe it as I write it myself.

Time now to write a rough draft for my chemistry paper that is due tomorrow. Thankfully it is only a rough draft and there is little I need to do to get it into shape. It's not graded--I just have to show that I've done some kind of work on it. It only needs to be 5-6 pages, double-spaced. Obviously I can do that in my sleep!

See you all tomorrow...

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...