Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
05-12-2001 @ 11:25p.m.
Guilty Pleasures

Hold the phone, there's a new diary in town! Everyone go check out marywa--she's a very good friend of mine and her diary is hilarious! I laughed out loud several times reading today's entry. And I'll even overlook her minivan ownership. She has 3 kids anyway, so that seems like a large enough family for a minivan. :-)

I got up earlier than usual on a Saturday (9am) and organized my scrapbook stuff before going to McMinnville to visit my sister. She saved 3 lilac bushes from her school's booster club plant sale and I went to pick them up. While there, I had the great fortune to have my ankles licked clean by her golden lab.

When I got back, I weeded and pruned and did some other random yard stuff which escapes me now but I was really busy so it must have been something. Joey had the good fortune of having a friend over for a playdate (as an only child, Saturdays can be hard for her because most friends are doing sports or family things and she ends up alone or with mom and dad). At some point, I developed terrible cramps and had to drug myself silly and lay down. Of course, the best thing for cramps is to sleep so I did just that. It was delightful. Aaah.

One of my favorite of Joey's former babysitters (and my good friend's daughter) got married last week and there was an open house reception at her mother's home tonight. Joey and I went. Ed was going to go but he said he could either go to the reception or go shopping for my mother's day gift. Guess where he went. :-)

Joey went to bed without any problems tonight, thankfully. She was starting to scare me in the grocery store--she was getting a little irritable and perseverating on the helium balloons that where forever out of her reach but she pulled it together and went to bed nicely. What a relief. I hate when she gets in these kinds of moods--they usually last a few weeks. I usually blame it on the pod people who have taken over her body. Eventually they bore of me and depart but life is pretty ugly while they're here.

I have a test in anatomy Monday and it's going to be a tough one. I printed out the practice exam and it scared me bad. I think I'll be spending a lot of my mother's day with my nose in a book. And I really wanted to enjoy the day, too. Rats!

We watched Miss Congeniality tonight. There were some very funny lines in that show. Now we're watching some of Saturday Night Live. I don't know why we still watch that--it isn't very funny anymore. Tonight's host is the frightening pale and anorexic Lara Flynn Boyle. She scares me. She's perfect as a hard-ass DA on the practice but in real life, should a person be that bony? I say nay.

Guilty pleasure alert: Singing loud with Bon Jovi. They're singing a newish song "It's My Life" on SNL right now and I'm singing along. Let me give you some background. I was a New Wave Queen of the 80s. I had the spiky hair with a very bleached blonde streak (that I colored pink with strawberry mousse when I went dancing, which was at least once a week). I listened to Blancmange and The Clash and Ultravox and Depeche Mode and Tears for Fears and Kate Bush and Missing Persons and The Tom Tom Club and Talking Heads and Frankie Goes to Hollywood and Stephen TinTin Duffy and TalkTalk and others of their ilk. All my friends listened to the same music. We went dancing in New Wave clubs all the time and we were very cool. (Ok, perhaps we were only cool in our own minds, but it was fun while it lasted.) We did *not* listen to big hair bands and we did not listen to heavy metal and we most certainly did not listen to country music. Except, sometimes, when no one was around, I'd listen to a little Bon Jovi on MTV and sing my heart out. I even sang to John Mellencamp (though I think there was a cougar in his name back then). Of course, I would never admit it even on a dare. No way. My cool friends and I wouldn't be caught dead listening to that kind of music. Which is why I only watched them on MTV late at night when no one else was around. But now that I'm a grown up, I can revel in my eclectic musical tastes (have you seen my favorites list? That's only a smidgen of what I like) and not be ashamed. I even proudly own a Best of the Partridge Family CD. (What can I say? I was a child of the 70s and had a mad crush on Keith just like every other girl in my school. That is, when we weren't pillow-kissing Donny Osmond.)

Ok, so this SNL isn't too bad. The Moulin Rouge spoof was pretty darn hilarious. I actually laughed out loud. I can't remember the last time I laughed out loud at an SNL skit.

While I'm admitting to guilty pleasures, I thought I'd just mention that I'm very fond of prunes. They're now calling them dried plums, but they aren't actually plums--they're made from Italian prunes. Why are people afraid to say the word prune? I wish it weren't so. Every time I mention that I like to eat them, people look at me funny. It's like I said I like to snack on Ex-Lax or something. Anyway, I love them. I particularly like the non-pitted ones, but I think they're virtually impossible to find anymore. I just bought some new prunes tonight and had some for a late night snack. Yum! I think I need to make Chicken and Prunes again--Moroccan Night, part II.

It's after midnight so I guess I'd better hit the sack. I need to get my beauty sleep. Ed and Joey are making me French toast and bacon for breakfast. Yum! I can't wait. I'm kinda hungry right now--I have another hankering for pasta and I'm not even watching Molto Mario.

I've been having hot flashes while I sit here on the couch. It's almost like when I was taking Clomid. I wonder if I'm going in to premature menopause. Good grief I hope not! With my cardiac family history, I can't afford to go into menopause one minute too soon.

Bon Jovi is back on. They're singing the oldie but goodie "You Give Love a Bad Name," so I must stop writing now and pay attention.

See you tomorrow...

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...