Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
05-01-2001 @ post-midnight
Book Group Night

I found out that my good friend Melanee who will be 37 in a month got married on Monday. She was engaged to a man from Mexico who was in this country illegally. They had planned to marry later in the summer in Mexico so he could enter the country legally but decided at the last second to get married before the midnight alien amnesty deadline on Monday. Her parents weren't able to attend but 2 brothers and to SILs were there. They don't even have a place to stay because she was in the process of moving out of her apartment and was going to stay with her parents for the summer. I wonder what they'll do now? Anyway, she's married and deliriously happy. Oh, did I forget to mention that she is 12 years older than her husband?

It was bookgroup tonight. We had a big turnout--11 people. That's a lot. We were missing 2 or 3 people. I don't even know how many people we have now--isn't that sad? I'm the founder, even! I think it's time to put the brakes on new members for awhile. Anyway, we had a great discussion on RESISTANCE by Anita Shreve. It was set in Belgium during WWII and dealt with their resistance movement over there. I didn't finish the book but I knew enough about it to discuss the issues. I host next--MAKAI by Kathleen Tyau. Yay! We're reading I KNOW THIS MUCH IS TRUE by Wally Lamb for July. Fortunately I've already read it recently enough to remember most of the salient details. I loved that book and I love Wally Lamb. He's a genius! I read that 900 page book in about 10 days, which is a pretty good clip for me. I'm usually a slow reader because I savor everything.

I'm watching the new Go-Gos video. Belinda Carlisle looks great and the song is good. Sounds like their old stuff, but I liked their old stuff. Hey, I came of age in the 80s--I remember that music very fondly.

I need to get back to Chemistry. Test tomorrow. I just want to go to bed. I think I'll review my notes and then call it good.

Later...

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...