Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
04-28-2001 @ late night as usual
Food Land

Well, I did some of what I planned to today. I didn't get the office cleaned out. Or was it Joey's room I was going to do? I forget. Anyway, didn't do that. I did, however, make an incredible ragu Bolognese (if I do say so myself) and I even made my own pasta tagliatelle. I was Mario Freaking Batali, I was. I'm rather impressed with my culinary skills today. But it didn't stop there. No siree. After dinner, I made creme brulee. And I bruleed it with my chef's torch. (That part was really fun!) I tell you what, I rock!

I'm noticing a recurrent food theme in this diary. I think I talk about food too much. I think I think about food too much. Perhaps that is why I'm in the shape I'm in. (Unrelated side note: I worked out on the treadmill this morning before going to Joey's therapy.) Thing is, I love food. I love making food. I love tasting food. I love eating food. I love smelling food. (I can still smell the heavenly odors of my Bolognese sauce. Mmmm.)

Maybe I should change the name of my diary from Lobotomy Land to Food Land. Nah, then I'd sound like some grocery store. How about Gourmet Land? Nah, too pretentious. Ah, how about Good Food Town? Nah, that's stupid. I know, I'll just keep it at Lobotomy Land until I can come up with something really great.

We're watching REMEMBER THE TITANS right now on video. I'm surprisingly interested in it. I used to really dig football when I was younger. In high school and college--I watched all the school's games and watched games on TV. I loved it. In the past 10 years or so, I've gotten to where I don't like it much at all. It's mostly annoying. But this movie had a great human drama in the middle of a football story. It was really good. I'd recommend it.

Last night Ed fell asleep on the floor while we were watching TV. I didn't know he had taken a Unisom to help him sleep. Around midnight, I gave him a wake-up groping and interrupted his sleep. I lured him into my lair and kept him awake for a good long while. heh heh heh Such are the evil workings of a naughty girl.

I feel quite relaxed and pleased with myself. Making homemade pasta felt like such an accomplishment. It would be a lot easier if I had a pasta machine to do the rolling and cutting, though. Perhaps Ed and Joey will think of that for Mother's Day. They helped separate the tagliatelle after I cut it. I think I'll make ravioli next. I'll make a filling of pasta and cheese and garlic and rosemary and basil. Or something like that.

There I go, talking about food again. Oh well.

Tomorrow I'll walk on the treadmill again. A lot. (Gotta work off that creme brulee!)

It's after 2am so I think I'd better at least try to go to sleep. I slept in this morning dreaming about my old roommate Tina Weyland. It was so strange. Very jumbled and crazy. I wish I knew where she was so I could write to her. I sent her a Christmas card in care of her parents but I don't know if she got it. Oh well. Maybe some friends are lost forever.

Time for bed...

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...